WORD Presents: Rena Rossner for THE SISTERS OF THE WINTER WOOD

10/30/2018 - 7:30pm

In a remote village surrounded by forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya have been raised on the honeyed scent of their Mami's babka and the low rumble of their Tati's prayers. But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell,  despite their mother's warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods.

As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realize the old fairy tales are true...and could save them all.

Captivating and boldly imaginative, Rena Rossner's debut invites you to enter a magical world of secrets, family ties, and fairy tales weaving through history. Perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale, Uprooted, and The Night Circus.

Rena will be joined in conversation with Ilana C. Myer, author of Fire Dance.

Please note that there is a $5 entrance voucher for this event which can be purchased online or at the door. The voucher is good toward anything in store at WORD, including The Sisters of the Winter Wood. Please note that if you purchase the book directly from WORD at the event or via pre-order there is no need to purchase a voucher for admission. 

ABOUT RENA ROSSNER

Rena Rossner lives in Israel, where she works as a literary agent. All eight of her great grandparents immigrated to America to escape the pogroms, from towns like Dubossary and Kupel. It is their story, together with her love of Jewish mythology and fantasy, which inspired her to write The Sisters of the Winter Wood.  

ABOUT ILANA C. MYER

Ilana C. Myer is the author of Last Song Before Night and Fire Dance, epic fantasy novels about art and enchantment. She has also written about books in numerous publications including The Globe and Mail, the Los Angeles Review of Books, the Huffington Post, Salon, and the Jerusalem Post

The Sisters of the Winter Wood Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316483254
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Redhook - September 25th, 2018

Captivating and boldly imaginative, with a tale of sisterhood at its heart, Rena Rossner's debut fantasy invites you to enter a world filled with magic, folklore, and the dangers of the woods.


$5 admission to this event at our Brooklyn store. Your $5 voucher can be used toward anything in store, including The Sisters of the Winter Wood. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD there is no need to purchase a voucher. 


Fire Dance: The Harp and Ring Sequence #2 Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780765378323
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Tor Books - April 10th, 2018

Palace intrigue, dark magic, and terrifying secrets drive the beautifully written standalone novel Fire Dance, set in the world of Last Song Before Night.