You are here

WORD Presents Florence Gonsalves for LOVE & OTHER CARNIVOROUS PLANTS

    05/16/2018 - 7:00pm

    WORD is delighted to celebrate the launch of Florence Gonsalves' Love & Other Carnivorous Plants, a darkly funny debut for fans of Becky Albertalli, Matthew Quick, and Ned Vizzini about a nineteen-year-old girl who's consumed by love, grief, and the many-tentacled beast of self-destructive behavior.  

    About the Book

    Danny is home for the summer after the most anticlimactic year of her life: freshman year at Harvard. It turns out it's not so easy to be "Valedictorian of the World": she's failing pre-med, left mid-semester to enter treatment for an eating disorder, and is drifting apart from her childhood best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. And then, when she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl she met in rehab, she finally feels like she might finding a new sense of self that feels right. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her in more ways than one as Danny struggles to find a way to just be herself--whoever that self really is.

    About the Author

    After graduating from Dartmouth college in 2015, Florence held numerous jobs and internships before finally deciding to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming an author. Love & Other Carnivorous Plants is her first book.

     

    This event takes place at our Brooklyn location. Entrance is a $5 voucher which can be purchased in advance online or at the door. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Love & Other Carnivorous Plants. Please note that if a copy of the book is purchased at the event, there is no need to purchase a voucher as well.

    Love & Other Carnivorous Plants Cover Image
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9780316436724
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2018

    This darkly funny debut for fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green about a teen consumed by love, grief, and the many-tentacled beast of self-destructive behavior is "a must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of sexual identity and mental health" (SLJ).


    $5.00
    SKU: LOVE&VOUCHER

    $5 admission to see Florence Gonsalves at 7:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 16, 2018 at WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Love & Other Carnivorous Plants.