I Don't Care About Your Band and other Heartbreak Hilarity

02/23/2010 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Julie Klausner, author of the new memoir, I Don’t Care About Your Band, will host a night of funny stories about love-gone-bad, also featuring Rachel Shukert, author of Have You No Shame? and Mike Albo, author of The Underminder: The Best Friend Who Casually Destroys Your Life. Facebook RSVP for this event here.

Read Julie Klausner's posts on the Penguin Blog

In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love--and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.


Have You No Shame?: And Other Regrettable Stories Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9780345498618
Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
Published: Villard - April 29th, 2008

Growing up in white-bread Omaha, Nebraska, Rachel Shukert was one of thirty-seven students (circa 1990) in Nebraska’s only Jewish elementary school. She spent her days dreaming of a fantasy Aryan boyfriend named Chris McPresbyterian, a tall blond god whose family spoke softly in public and did not inquire after his bowel movements.


The Underminer: The Best Friend Who Casually Destroys Your Life Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781582344843
Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
Published: Bloomsbury USA - January 27th, 2005

You can't escape him. He swerves in and out of your life as if effortlessly walking through a crowded restaurant. He's a passive-aggressive master. He's as undetectable as a whisper and as effective as a tiny toxic pill.