BK: "Ask Polly Live": Heather Havrilesky presents How to Be a Person In the World with Meghan Daum, Kate Bolick and Maris Kreizman

07/12/2016 - 7:00pm

This event takes place in our Brooklyn location.

Join Heather Havrilesky this summer at WORD for “Ask Polly Live,” an installment of the How to Be a Person in the World book tour. 
 
Meet Polly in-person and pick up a signed copy of How to Be a Person in the World. Heather will read favorite passages from her book, and she’ll be joined on-stage by special guests Meghan Daum, Kate Bolick and Maris Kreizman.

HEATHER HAVRILESKY is the author of the memoir Disaster Preparedness. She has written for New York magazine, The New York Times Book Review, the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times Magazine, Bookforum, The New Yorker, NPR's All Things Considered, and several anthologies. She was a TV critic at Salon for seven years. She lives in Los Angeles with a loud assortment of dependents, most of them nondeductible.

MEGHAN DAUM is the author of four books, most recently the collection of original essays The Unspeakable: And Other Subjects of Discussion, which won the 2015 PEN Center USA Award for creative nonfiction. She is also the editor of the New York Times bestseller Selfish, Shallow & Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers  on the Decision Not To Have Kids. Her other books include the essay collection My Misspent Youth, the novel The Quality of Life Report, and Life Would Be Perfect If I Lived In That House, a memoir. Since 2005, Meghan has been an opinion columnist at The Los Angeles Times, covering cultural and political topics. Meghan has written for numerous magazines, including The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, The Atlantic, and Vogue. She is the recipient of a 2015 Guggenheim Fellowship and a 2016 National Endowment for the Arts fellowship and is an adjunct associate professor in the MFA Writing Program at Columbia University's School of the Arts. 

KATE BOLICK's first book, the best-selling Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own, was named a New York Times Notable Book of 2015. A contributing editor for The Atlantic, Bolick is also a freelance writer for The New York Times, Slate, and Vogue, among other publications, and host of “Touchstones at The Mount,” an annual interview series at Edith Wharton’s country estate, in Lenox, MA. Previously, she was executive editor of Domino, and a columnist for The Boston Globe's Ideas Section. She teaches creative nonfiction at New York University, and lives in Brooklyn, New York.

MARIS KREIZMAN is the creator of Slaughterhouse 90210, a blog and book (Flatiron Books, 2015) that celebrates the intersection of her two great loves--literature and pop culture. She is a writer and critic whose work has appeared in the New York Times, BuzzFeed, The Hairpin, Vulture, Medium, Vol. 1 Brooklyn, and more. A former book editor, Maris takes special pleasure in critiquing her own writing.

RSVP is encouraged, but not required.

How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life Cover Image
Email or call for price and availability
ISBN: 9780385540391
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Doubleday - July 12th, 2016

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*

For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut


The Unspeakable: And Other Subjects of Discussion Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250074928
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - November 3rd, 2015

A master of the personal essay candidly explores love, death, and the counterfeit rituals of American life in this "brave, funny compendium" (Slate)


Spinster: Making a Life of One's Own Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780385347150
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Broadway Books - April 19th, 2016

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

“Whom to marry, and when will it happen—these two questions define every woman’s existence.”


Slaughterhouse 90210 Cover Image
Email or call for price and availability
ISBN: 9781250061102
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Flatiron Books - October 6th, 2015

The perfect book for anyone with a Netflix account and a library card.