You are here

Abandon Me (Kobo eBook)

    Abandon Me Cover Image
    $13.60
    Available Now

    Description


    Named One of the Best Books of 2017 by:
    Esquire, Refinery29, LitHub, BookRiot, Medium, Electric Literature, The Brooklyn Rail, Vol. 1 Brooklyn, Largehearted Boy, The Coil and The Cut.

    Winner of the Lambda Literary Jeanne Cordova Prize for Lesbian/Queer Nonfiction
    Finalist, Lambda Literary Award for Lesbian Memoir/Biography
    Finalist, Publishing Triangle's Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction
    An Indie Next Pick

    For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, a fierce and dazzling personal narrative that explores the many ways identity and art are shaped by love and loss.

    In her critically acclaimed memoir, Whip Smart,Melissa Febos laid bare the intimate world of the professional dominatrix, turning an honest examination of her life into a lyrical study of power, desire, and fulfillment.

    In her dazzling Abandon Me, Febos captures the intense bonds of love and the need for connection -- with family, lovers, and oneself. First, her birth father, who left her with only an inheritance of addiction and Native American blood, its meaning a mystery. As Febos tentatively reconnects, she sees how both these lineages manifest in her own life, marked by compulsion and an instinct for self-erasure. Meanwhile, she remains closely tied to the sea captain who raised her, his parenting ardent but intermittent as his work took him away for months at a time. Woven throughout is the hypnotic story of an all-consuming, long-distance love affair with a woman, marked equally by worship and withdrawal. In visceral, erotic prose, Febos captures their mutual abandonment to passion and obsession -- and the terror and exhilaration of losing herself in another.

    At once a fearlessly vulnerable memoir and an incisive investigation of art, love, and identity, Abandon Me draws on childhood stories, religion, psychology, mythology, popular culture, and the intimacies of one writer's life to reveal intellectual and emotional truths that feel startlingly universal.

    Product Details
    ISBN-13: 9781632866592
    Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
    Publication Date: February 28th, 2017
    Language: