Jersey City

WORD Presents: Sam Maggs for GIRL SQUADS in Conversation with Wendy Xu

10/03/2018 - 7:30pm

Join us as we welcome author Sam Maggs to celebrate the release of her book Girl Squads: 20 Female Friendships That Changed HistoryFeaturing illustrations by Jenn Woodall, Girl Squads is a love letter to iconic crews in fields as diverse as politics, sports, history, and pop culture. Whether she's writing about well known squads like the trio of female Supreme Court justices or introducing you to medieval French artists, Sam's sense of humor and love for her subjects will remind you why #squadgoals became a thing in the first place.

Girl Squads: 20 Female Friendships That Changed History Cover Image
By Sam Maggs, Jenn Woodall (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781683690726
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Quirk Books - October 2nd, 2018

A fun and feisty tour of famous girl BFFs from history who stuck together and changed the world.


The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781594747892
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Quirk Books - May 12th, 2015

This ultimate handbook for ladies living the nerdy life is a fun and feminist take on the often male-dominated world of geekdom.
 


$5 admission to this event at our Jersey City store. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Girl Squads. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD that there is no need to purchase a voucher.


WORD Presents: Lindsey Stanberry for REFINERY29 MONEY DIARIES

09/20/2018 - 7:30pm
Lindsey Stanberry R29 Money Diaries

Join us as we welcome author Lindsey Stanberry to celebrate the release of her book Refinery29 Money Diaries: Everything You've Ever Wanted to Know About Your Finances...and Everyone Else's. An offshoot of Refinery29's popular Money Diaries series, Lindsey's book features 10 new diaries, accompanied by real-life financial advice you can apply to real life, whether you're an intern with a generous allowance or an executive making six figures.

Refinery29 Money Diaries: Everything You've Ever Wanted To Know About Your Finances... And Everyone Else's Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781501197994
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - September 4th, 2018

Does it feel like you’re NEVER going to finish paying back your student loans?
Do you spend more on coffee per month than you put into your 401(k)?
Do you avoid looking at your bank balance because it’s easier to live in denial?
The first step to getting your financial life in order is tracking what you spend.

Money Diaries, the breakout series from Refiner


$5 admission to this event at our Jersey City store. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Refinery29 Money Diaries. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD that there is no need to purchase a voucher.


New Fiction Book Group Reads THOSE WHO KNEW

12/03/2018 - 6:00pm

Staff Pick Logo
Those Who Knew: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525560432
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Viking - November 6th, 2018

Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR by * NPR * Esquire * O, The Oprah Magazine * Real Simple * BBC * PopSugar * Bustle * Kirkus Reviews * Lit Hub

“A gripping, astute, and deeply humane political thriller.” —The Boston Globe

“Mesmerizing [and] uncannily prescient.”—Los Angeles Times


Garbage Water Thursday's Reads DESTROY ALL MONSTERS

11/08/2018 - 6:00pm

Destroy All Monsters: The Last Rock Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374537661
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: FSG Originals - October 16th, 2018

"A wild roar of a novel . . . Writing about music is tricky. Ninety-nine percent of the time hearing the actual song or going to the actual concert is far more revealing than any paragraph describing it.


Garbage Water Thursday's Reads TRIP

10/11/2018 - 6:00pm

Trip: Psychedelics, Alienation, and Change Cover Image
By Tao Lin
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101974513
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Vintage - May 2018

Part memoir, part history, part journalistic exposé, Trip is a look at psychedelic drugs, literature, and alienation from one of the twenty-first century's most innovative novelists--The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test for a new generation. A Vintage Original.


Garbage Water Thursday's Reads THE SEXY PARTS OF THE BIBLE

09/13/2018 - 6:00pm

The Sexy Part of the Bible (Akashic Urban Surreal) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781936070961
Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
Published: Akashic Books - June 21st, 2011

Number 7 on HEY, SMALL PRESS's Best Of 2011 list (heysmallpress.org)

"From the malignant forces of racism and sexism to corruption and cloning, Boof catwalks her way through a shrewdly satirical, erotic, and suspenseful novel of defiance."
--Booklist


WORD Presents a PRIDE Storytime with Christian Trimmer and Jessie Sima!

08/25/2018 - 11:00am

Snow Pony and the Seven Miniature Ponies Cover Image
By Christian Trimmer, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481462686
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 21st, 2018

From Christian Trimmer and bestselling illustrator Jessie Sima comes an adorable and imaginative twist on the tale of Snow White…with lots more ponies!

Sweet Snow Pony is loved by all for her beautiful coat as white as snow and her mane as black as ebony.


Teddy's Favorite Toy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481480796
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - February 27th, 2018

A mom goes to great lengths to rescue her son’s favorite doll in this delightful tribute to treasured toys—and mothers.

Teddy has a lot of cool toys. But his very favorite doll has the best manners, the sickest fighting skills, and a fierce sense of style.

Then one morning, something truly awful happens. And there’s only one woman fierce enough to save the day.


Harriet Gets Carried Away Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481469111
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

From the author and illustrator of the bestselling Not Quite Narwhal comes a sweet and funny story about remembering where you belong, no matter how far you roam, or what you’re wearing when you get there.

Harriet loves costumes. She wears them to the dentist, to the supermarket, and most importantly, to her super-special dress-up birthday party.


Not Quite Narwhal Cover Image
By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481469098
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 14th, 2017

In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.

Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family.


WORD Presents Anne Lamott for ALMOST EVERYTHING

10/23/2018 - 7:30pm

ONLINE SALES HAVE ENDED!

 

Almost Everything: Notes on Hope Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780525537441
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Riverhead Books - October 16th, 2018

From Anne Lamott, the New York Times-bestselling author of Help, Thanks, Wow, comes the book we need from her now: How to bring hope back into our lives. Fantastic inspiration for the new year.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Jersey City