Brooklyn

Caldecott Honors Storytime at WORD BK with Sophie Blackall, Grace Lin, and Oge Mora

04/07/2019 - 12:00pm

 

WORD is thrilled to host a very special storytime featuring three of 2019's Caldecott honorees: Sophie Blackall, winner of the 2019 medal for Hello Lighthouse, and Grace Lin and Oge Mora, authors of the honor-winning A Big Mooncake for Little Star and Thank You, Omu! 

ABOUT SOPHIE BLACKALL

Hello Lighthouse Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316362382
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 10th, 2018

Winner of the 2019 Caldecott Medal

A beloved picture book from two-time Caldecott Medal award-winner Sophie Blackall that transports readers to the seaside in timeless, nautical splendor!


A Big Mooncake for Little Star Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316404488
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 28th, 2018

A Caldecott Honor Book!

A gorgeous picture book that tells a whimsical origin story of the phases of the moon, from award-winning, bestselling author-illustrator Grace Lin

Pat, pat, pat...

Little Star's soft feet tiptoed to the Big Mooncake.


Thank You, Omu! Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316431248
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 2nd, 2018

A 2019 Caldecott Honor Book
Winner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award

In this
remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.


WORD BK Presents: Gabe Henry and Michael Arthur for WHAT THE FACT?!

03/21/2019 - 7:30pm

 

Join us at WORD Brooklyn for an evening with local author Gabe Henry, author of What the Fact?! 365 Strange Days in History. Gabe will give a reading from his book and will be accompanied by illustrator Michael Arthur, who will live-draw the stories as Gabe reads them. 

ABOUT GABE HENRY

What the Fact?!: A Daily Trivia Almanac of 365 Strange Days in History Cover Image
By Gabe Henry, Dave Hopkins (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781452168531
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Chronicle Books - September 4th, 2018

Truly stranger than fiction, this daily illustrated collection of unusual trivia provides readers fascinating detail on some of the weirdest moments in history. Drawing from a range of subjects including politics, sports, the arts, pop culture, and more, each day of the year explores one What the . .


WORD Presents: Sally Thorne, Alexis Daria, Sarah MacLean, and Maya Rodale

04/09/2019 - 7:00pm

 

WORD is beyond thrilled to welcome Australian romance author Sally Thorne to our Greenpoint store for a panel discussion featuring Alexis Daria, Sarah MacLean, and Maya Rodale. Sally, Alexis, Sarah, and Maya will discuss the intergenerational appeal of romance and the agelesless of the genre, and following the discussion will take questions from the audience and sign books. 

99 Percent Mine: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062439611
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 29th, 2019

Readers and critics alike raved over USA Today bestselling author Sally Thorne’s smash hit debut, The Hating Game, which has sold in over 20 countries. Now she’s back with an unforgettable romantic comedy about a woman who finally has a shot at her long time crush—if she dares.


$5.00
SKU: sallyvoucher

$5 admission to the 4/9 Sally Thorne event at our Brooklyn store. Your $5 admission voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the day of the event.


WORD BK Presents: LaTonya Yvette and Glory Edim for WOMAN OF COLOR

04/17/2019 - 7:30pm

 

WORD is thrilled to welcome LaTonya Yvette for a celebration of her new book Woman of Color. LaTonya will be joined in conversation by Glory Edim, author of Well-Read Black Girl. Following their conversation, LaTonya and Glory will take questions from the audience and sign books. 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Woman of Color Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419732942
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 2nd, 2019

Well-Read Black Girl: Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780525619772
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Ballantine Books - October 30th, 2018

NOMINATED FOR AN NAACP IMAGE AWARD • An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature.


$5.00
SKU: womanvoucher

$5 admission to this event at our Brooklyn store. Your $5 admission voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store, including Woman of Color. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD there is no need to purchase an admission voucher. 


WORD BK Presents: Cat Winters and Andrea Janes for THE RAVEN'S TALE

04/15/2019 - 7:30pm

 

If you've ever wondered what Edgar Allan Poe was like as a teenager, then Cat Winters is here for you—her new book The Raven's Tale tells the story of an icon before he was an icon. WORD is excited to welcome Cat to our Greenpoint store for a conversation featuring Andrea Janes, founder of Boroughs of the Dead. 

ABOUT THE BOOK

The Raven's Tale Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419733628
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 16th, 2019

WORD BK Presents: Amos Barshad and David Marchese for NO ONE MAN SHOULD HAVE ALL THAT POWER

04/11/2019 - 7:30pm

 

WORD is thrilled to host Amos Barshad for the launch of his book No One Man Should Have All That Power: How Rasputins Manipulate the World. Amos will be joined in conversation by David Marchese. 

ABOUT THE BOOK

No One Man Should Have All That Power: How Rasputins Manipulate the World Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781419734557
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Harry N. Abrams - April 9th, 2019

$5.00
SKU: amosvoucher

$5 admission to this event at our Brooklyn store. Your $5 admission voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store, including No One Man Should Have All That Power. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD there is no need to purchase an admission voucher. 


WORD BK Presents: Carrie Laben and Cara Hoffman for A HAWK IN THE WOODS

03/27/2019 - 7:30pm

 

Join us at WORD Greenpoint for an evening with Carrie Laben, author of the new literary horror novel A Hawk in the Woods. She'll be joined in conversation by Cara Hoffman, author of Running and Be Safe I Love You

ABOUT CARRIE LABEN

A Hawk in the Woods Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781939905468
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Word Horde - March 26th, 2019

When newscaster Abby Waite is diagnosed with a potentially terminal illness, she decides to do the logical thing... break her twin sister Martha out of prison and hit the road. Their destination is the Waite family cabin in Minnesota where Abby plans a family reunion of sorts.


Running Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476757582
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 20th, 2018

From the critically acclaimed author of Be Safe I Love You comes a haunting novel of love, friendship, and survival set in the red light district of Athens in the 1980s that New York magazine calls "a gauzy portrait of youthful longing, sticky romance, and regret."


WORD BK Presents: Josh Frank and Robert S. Bader for GIRAFFES ON HORSEBACK SALAD

03/28/2019 - 7:30pm

 

Calling all Marx Brothers and Dalí fans! WORD is excited to welcome Josh Frank to Greenpoint for a discussion of his new book Giraffes on Horseback Salad, a reimagining of the strangest movie never made. Josh will give a talk about the history behind the unlikely friendship between Dalí and the Marx Brothers and his approach to researching this lost film, then take questions from the audience. He will be joined in conversation by Robert S. Bader, a fellow expert on the Marx Brothers.

Giraffes on Horseback Salad: Salvador Dali, the Marx Brothers, and the Strangest Movie Never Made Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781594749230
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Quirk Books - March 19th, 2019

This lushly illustrated graphic novel re-creates a lost Marx Brothers script written by modern art icon Salvador Dali.


$5 admission to this event at our Brooklyn store. Your $5 admission voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store, including Giraffes on Horseback Salad. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD there is no need to purchase an admission voucher. 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn