You are here

Brooklyn

    WORD Presents Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris for MY LADY'S CHOOSING

    04/18/2018 - 7:00pm

    This is a match made in heaven, WORD, Romance, and an night of storytelling fun! We're so excited for this interactive event with authors Kitty Curran and Larissa Zageris. Join us for a night of games and wine as we choose our way through the obsticles, abbs, busts, hilarity, schemes and tropes of our beloved Romance genre.

    About the Book

    My Lady's Choosing: An Interactive Romance Novel Cover Image
    $14.99
    ISBN: 9781683690139
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Quirk Books - April 3rd, 2018

    The romance novel that lets you pick your path, follow your heart, and find happily ever after


    $5.00
    SKU: myladyvoucher

    Entrance to My Ladys Choosing: An Interactive Romance at WORD Brooklyn on 4/21/18 at 7pm. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including My Lady's Choosing!


    WORD Presents Maya Dusenbery for DOING HARM in conversation with Susannah Cahalan

    04/17/2018 - 7:00pm

    Doing Harm: The Truth About How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick Cover Image
    $27.99
    ISBN: 9780062470805
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: HarperOne - March 6th, 2018

    Editor of the award-winning site Feministing.com, Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with doctors and researchers, and personal stories from women across the country to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today.


    Staff Pick Logo
    Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781451621389
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Simon & Schuster - August 6th, 2013

    An award-winning memoir and instant New York Times bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity.

    When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how she’d gotten t


    $5.00
    SKU: harmvoucher

    This voucher is good towards entrance to this event in our Brooklyn location. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Doing Harm! Please note that if a copy of the event book is purchased at the store, there is no need to purchase a voucher as well. 


    WORD Presents Laura Catherine Brown for MADE BY MARY in conversation with Hillary Jordan

    04/12/2018 - 7:00pm

    About the Book

    Made by Mary Cover Image
    $19.00
    ISBN: 9781936196074
    Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
    Published: C&r Press - May 15th, 2017

    Ann is desperate for the children she can't have because of a medical condition. Her mother Mary, a 50-year-old self-described pagan, hopes to make amends for her maternal neglect. Together, they plunge into the expensive, morally complex world of reproductive technology and an intimacy neither they, nor Ann's husband, Joe, is prepared for.


    $5.00
    SKU: maryvoucher

    This voucher is good towards entrance to this event in our Brooklyn location. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Made By Mary or Mudbound! Please note that if a copy of the event book is purchased at the store, there is no need to purchase a voucher as well. 


    Mudbound Cover Image
    $13.95
    ISBN: 9781565126770
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Algonquin Books - March 1st, 2009

    The International Bestseller

    Now a major motion picture from Netflix, directed by Dee Rees, nominated in four categories for the Academy Awards.


    WORD Presents Rebecca Harrington for SOCIABLE in conversation with Katie Heaney

    04/11/2018 - 7:00pm

     

    Join us for a night of wine and conversation about an exuberant comedy of manners set in the world of digital media, Sociable is a deliciously irreverent satire about the capriciousness of internet fame, the bewildering sexual mores of online dating, the preening male ego in the workplace, and about what it means to be young, broke, dumped, and scarily good at creating viral content.

    Sociable Cover Image
    $24.95
    ISBN: 9780385542821
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Doubleday Books - March 27th, 2018

    "Extremely funny." --Bethanne Patrick, The Washington Post


    Would You Rather?: A Memoir of Growing Up and Coming Out Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9780399180958
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Ballantine Books - March 6th, 2018

    A collection of poignant, relatable essays from the author of Never Have I Ever about coming out in her late twenties, entering into her first relationship, and figuring out what it means to be an adult.


    $5.00
    SKU: socvoucher

    This voucher is good towards entrance to this event in our Brooklyn location. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Sociable! Please note that if a copy of the event book is purchased at the store, there is no need to purchase a voucher as well. 


    WORD Presents Margaree Little for REST

    04/05/2018 - 7:00pm

    Rest (Stahlecker Selections) Cover Image
    $15.95
    ISBN: 9781945588105
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Four Way Books - March 1st, 2018

    Rest is a vivid, powerful collection examining the human cost of crossing the border. In 2010, Margaree Little was working for a humanitarian mission near Tucson when, along with a group of volunteers, she found the unidentified dead body of a man, who a medical examiner would later estimate died at least six months before.


    $5.00
    SKU: restvoucher

    This voucher is good towards entrance to this event in our Brooklyn location. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Rest! Please note that if a copy of the event book is purchased at the store, there is no need to purchase a voucher as well. 


    WORD Presents Mary Sharratt for ECSTASY

    04/24/2018 - 7:00pm

    Join us in Brooklyn for an evening with Mary Sharratt and president of the Mahler Society, Lew Smoley, to discuss a dynamic, overlooked woman of history, Alma Shcindler. Refreshments will be served! 

    About the Book

    Ecstasy Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9780544800892
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 10th, 2018

    In the glittering hotbed of turn-of-the-twentieth-century Vienna, one woman's life would define and defy an era


    $5.00
    SKU: Ecstasyvoucher

    This voucher is good towards entrance to this event in our Brooklyn location. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Ecstasy! Please note that if a copy of the event book is purchased at the store, there is no need to purchase a voucher as well. 
     


    BK: Storytime with Jessie Sima for Harriet Gets Carried Away

    03/25/2018 - 3:00pm

    Harriet Gets Carried Away Cover Image
    By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9781481469111
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 6th, 2018

    From the author and illustrator of the bestselling Not Quite Narwhal comes a sweet and funny story about remembering where you belong, no matter how far you roam, or what you're wearing when you get there.


    Not Quite Narwhal Cover Image
    By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9781481469098
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 14th, 2017

    In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.


    WORD Presents Ted Scheinman for CAMP AUSTEN

    03/15/2018 - 7:00pm

    Camp Austen: My Life as an Accidental Jane Austen Superfan Cover Image
    $15.00
    ISBN: 9780865478213
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Farrar Straus and Giroux - March 6th, 2018

    A Paris Review Staff Pick and one of The Millions' Most Anticipated Reads of March

    A raucous tour through the world of Mr. Darcy imitations, tailored gowns, and tipsy ballroom dancing


    $5.00
    SKU: austenvoucher

    Entrance to see Ted Scheinman and Michelle Legro  at WORD Brooklyn on 3/15/18 at 7pm. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Camp Austen!


    WORD Presents Ryan Walsh for ASTRAL WEEKS

    04/03/2018 - 7:00pm

    Astral Weeks: A Secret History of 1968 Cover Image
    $27.00
    ISBN: 9780735221345
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Penguin Press - March 6th, 2018

    A mind-expanding dive into a lost chapter of 1968, featuring the famous and forgotten: Van Morrison, folkie-turned-cult-leader Mel Lyman, Timothy Leary, James Brown, and many more


    $5.00
    SKU: walshvoucher

    Entrance to see Ryan Walsh and Craig Finn at WORD Brooklyn on 4/3/18 at 7pm. The $5 voucher can be used towards anything in the store, including Astral Weeks!


    Romance Book Group Discusses ON THESE SILKEN SHEETS

    09/01/2018 - 2:45pm

    Check out all of our offers for this club here

    On These Silken Sheets Cover Image
    $13.99
    ISBN: 9780061780288
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Avon Red - September 8th, 2009

    Hidden behind black silk masks and draped across silken sheets, in these four Regency novellas, pleasure awaits at Harridan House, an exclusive club presided over by the mysterious Madame Rouge.


    Pages