Brooklyn

Marvel's Spider-Man: From Amazing to Spectacular with Matt Singer and Alex Segura

11/06/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note that admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

About the book:

Marvel's Spider-Man: From Amazing to Spectacular: The Definitive Comic Art Collection Cover Image
By Matt Singer, J. M. DeMatteis (Foreword by)
$45.00
ISBN: 9781683837442
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Insight Editions - October 15th, 2019

Explore over fifty years of Spider-Man with this deluxe art book, featuring exclusive interviews and content from the incredibly talented people who brought this amazing hero to life.

Since he first appeared in the pages of Amazing Fantasy #15 in 1962, Marvel’s number one web-slinger has been swinging into the hearts of super hero fans everywhere.


$5.00
SKU: spidermanvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


Miami Midnight (Pete Fernandez #5) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781947993594
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Polis Books - August 13th, 2019

THE THRILLING FINAL CHAPTER IN ALEX SEGURA'S ACCLAIMED PETE FERNANDEZ SERIES A year has passed since Pete Fernandez's latest, closest brush with death. After months of recovery, the newly sober Pete has managed to rebuild his life, contentedly running a small Miami bookstore and steering clear of the dangers of private eye work.


The Archies Vol. 1 Cover Image
This item is currently unavailable and can not be ordered.
ISBN: 9781682558935
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Archie Comics - June 19th, 2018

The rockin' debut arc featuring the battle of friendship vs. fame, with a few special guests along the way! Follow Archie's quest to make his songwriting dreams a reality, and see what happens when the rock 'n' roll dream starts affecting his relationships with his closest friends.


The Archies Vol. 2 Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781682558751
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Archie Comics - November 20th, 2018

The second star-studded collection of The Archies, featuring crossovers with popular bands of the past and present!


WORD BK Presents: BYOB Comedy Show

11/14/2019 - 10:30am

 

Join us at WORD for a morning comedy show where bringing your own baby is not only welcome but encouraged. There will also be cookies! Tickets are available below. 

 

DESCRIPTION:

WELCOME TO BYOB (Bring Your Own Baby) Comedy show that features only the HOTTEST and most hilarious comedians in the city! Each ticket gets one adult in with a baby for a one hour comedy show, free cookies, a fun, relaxing and safe environment for parents to meet other parents!

WORD Presents Leanna Renee Hieber

11/12/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note that admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

Supernatural NYC, Then and Now - Celebrating A SANCTUARY OF SPIRITS

A Sanctuary of Spirits Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781635730623
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Kensington Publishing Corporation - November 12th, 2019

New York, 1899, and the police department's best ally is the secret Ghost Precinct, where spirits and psychics help solve the city's most perplexing crimes . . .

There's more than one way to catch a killer-though the methods employed by the NYPD's Ghost Precinct, an all-female team of psychics and spiritualists led by gifted young medium Eve Whitby, are unconventional to say the least.


Flashed (Happy Endings #3) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781496715289
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Kensington - August 27th, 2019

When a man makes his living by his looks, he can forget that love—and lust—are more than skin deep. But the right woman can remind him . . .
 


Storytime at WORD BK with Hannah Stark

10/27/2019 - 12:00pm

 

Join us at our Greenpoint, Brooklyn location for an interactive storytime with Hannah Stark for her new title Trucker and Train. 

 

**This event is free! 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Trucker and Train Cover Image
By Hannah Stark, Bob Kolar (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544801813
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Clarion Books - August 6th, 2019

Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that’s perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long’s Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one. 

Trucker, the big rig, loves to rule the road with his size, strength, and mighty horn.


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses THE YELLOW HOUSE

11/23/2019 - 3:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir from a stunning new talent about the inexorable pull of home and family, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans East.

The Yellow House: A Memoir (2019 National Book Award Winner) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802125088
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Grove Press - August 13th, 2019

“Extravagantly beautiful…. Enormously, achingly alive…. A howl of love and rage, playful and funny as well as hard and bitter.” —The New York Times


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses SHE WOULD BE KING

10/26/2019 - 3:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

She Would Be King: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450017
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Graywolf Press - September 3rd, 2019

“Extravagantly beautiful…. Enormously, achingly alive…. A howl of love and rage, playful and funny as well as hard and bitter.” —The New York Times


WORD BK Presents: BYOB Comedy Show

10/10/2019 - 10:30am

 

Join us at WORD for a morning comedy show where bringing your own baby is not only welcome but encouraged. There will also be cookies! Tickets are available below. 

 

DESCRIPTION:

WELCOME TO BYOB (Bring Your Own Baby) Comedy show that features only the HOTTEST and most hilarious comedians in the city! Each ticket gets one adult in with a baby for a one hour comedy show, free cookies, a fun, relaxing and safe environment for parents to meet other parents!

WORD Presents OCEAN VOUNG (SOLD OUT)

10/16/2019 - 7:00pm

***Please note: THIS EVENT IS AT CAPACITY. VOUCHERS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABLE.***

ABOUT ON EARTH WE’RE BRIEFLY GORGEOUS

An instant New York Times Bestseller! 

Staff Pick Badge
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525562023
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Press - June 4th, 2019

The event is sold out. If you purchase a book after 10/2/19, that does not constitute a ticket. 


WORD Presents Christopher McDougall for Running With Sherman

10/30/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note: admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

About the book:

Running with Sherman: The Donkey with the Heart of a Hero Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781524732363
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - October 15th, 2019

"A delight, full of heart and hijinks and humor . . . McDougall is a gifted storyteller who gets to the heart of the human-animal connection." --John Grogan, author of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Presents Susan Plunket

10/29/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note: admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

About the Book

Mission from Venus Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781789041705
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Cosmic Egg Books - November 1st, 2019

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn