You are here

Brooklyn

    BK: Storytime! THE GREEN UMBRELLA with Jackie Azua Kramer

    09/24/2017 - 3:00pm

    Things aren’t always what they seem in this charming tale of imagination, sharing and friendship.

    When Elephant takes a peaceful walk with his green umbrella, he’s interrupted by Hedgehog, Cat, Bear, and Rabbit—all claiming that they’ve had exciting adventures with his umbrella. After all, it is an umbrella, and it certainly hasn’t been on any adventures more exciting than a walk in the rain. Or has it?

     

    The Green Umbrella Cover Image
    $17.95
    ISBN: 9780735842182
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Northsouth Books - January 31st, 2017

    A 2017 Bank Street Best Children's Book of the Year.

    Mom's Choice Award - Gold

    Things aren't always what they seem in this charming tale of imagination, sharing and friendship.


    BK: MAKEUP DAY Middle Readers Book Club Reads MS. BIXBY'S LAST DAY

    09/23/2017 - 11:00am
    Ms. Bixby's Last Day Cover Image
    $6.99
    ISBN: 9780062338181
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Walden Pond Press - April 4th, 2017

    New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice


    BK: Beginning Readers Book Club Reads MERCY WATSON TO THE RESCUE

    09/09/2017 - 11:00am
    Mercy Watson to the Rescue Cover Image
    By Kate DiCamillo, Chris Van Dusen (Illustrator)
    $5.99
    ISBN: 9780763645045
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - December 22nd, 2009

    The first adventure of this NEW YORK TIMES best-selling porcine wonder is now available in paperback. (Ages 6 - 8)


    BK: Adam Braver presents THE DISAPPEARED in conversation with Phillip Lopate

    10/18/2017 - 7:00pm

    A novel of two strangers swept up in the aftermath of politicized acts of violence. THE DISAPPEARED traces a pair of survivors: a woman whose husband is missing in a San Bernardino-type of attack, and a man who believes his sister was an unidentified victim of the '93 World Trade Center bombing. With a remarkable mix of nuance and momentum, Braver portrays their resistance to the relentless loop of public feedback

    The Disappeared Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781944853341
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Outpost19 - October 3rd, 2017

    A novel of two strangers swept up in the aftermath of two politicized acts of violence. THE DISAPPEARED traces a pair of survivors: a woman whose husband is missing in a San Bernardino-type of attack, and a man who believes his sister was an unidentified victim of the '93 World Trade Center bombing.


    BK: GOLDELINE by Jimmy Cajoleas Launch Party & Reading

    11/19/2017 - 4:00pm

    This event takes place in our Brooklyn Store. 

    In the wild, free woods of the Hinterlands, where magic is as real as stories are, Goldeline travels from camp to camp with Gruff and his bandits, getting by on the things they steal from carriages that pass through the woods.

    Goldeline Cover Image
    $16.99
    ISBN: 9780062498755
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: HarperCollins - November 14th, 2017

    Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and The Thickety, this spellbinding story follows a young girl named Goldeline on an adventure through a fairy tale forest filled with dark and wondrous magic.

    A Booklist Top 10 First Novels for Youth Pick of 2017


    BK: James DeMonaco Presents The Curious Chronicles of Jack Bokimble and His Peculiar Penumbra, In Conversation with Ethan Hawke

    11/11/2017 - 2:00pm

    This event takes place in our Brooklyn Store. 

    About Jack Bokimble:

    The Curious Chronicles of Jack Bokimble and His Peculiar Penumbra Cover Image
    $8.99
    ISBN: 9781942645702
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Inkshares - November 7th, 2017

    Shortly after Jack is born, strange things are afoot in the Bokimble house--glasses fall from shelves, and nothing seems to be where Mr. and Mrs. Bokimble left it. Jack's parents begin to sense that there's something strange about their son, and it's not long before they realize that he has a secret friend: his magical shadow.


    BK: Ann Powers presents GOOD BOOTY: Love and Sex, Black and White, Body and Soul in American Music

    09/18/2017 - 7:00pm

     

    Good Booty: Love and Sex, Black and White, Body and Soul in American Music Cover Image
    $26.99
    ISBN: 9780062463692
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Dey Street Books - August 15th, 2017

    NPR Best Books of 2017

    In this sweeping history of popular music in the United States, NPR’s acclaimed music critic examines how popular music shapes fundamental American ideas and beliefs, allowing us to communicate difficult emotions and truths about our most fraught social issues, most notably sex and race.


    BK: Latin@ Rising: An Anthology of Latin@ Science Fiction and Fantasy

    09/19/2017 - 7:00pm

    Latin@ Rising: An Anthology of Latin@ Science Fiction and Fantasy Cover Image
    By Matthew David Goodwin (Editor), Frederick Luis Aldama (Introduction by)
    $16.95
    ISBN: 9781609405243
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Wings Press (TX) - January 1st, 2017

    Latin@ Rising is the first anthology of science fiction and fantasy written by Latinos/as living in the United States. The 22 authors and artists included in this anthology come from all over the U.S. and from eight different national traditions.


    BK: Carmen Maria Machado presents HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES in conversation with Alice Sola Kim

    10/20/2017 - 7:00pm

     

    Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781555977887
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

    Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

    " These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange."--Roxane Gay

    "In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales, Machado gives literal shape to women's memories and hunger and desire. I couldn't put it down."--Karen Russell


    BK: Summer Reading Party!

    08/26/2017 - 3:00pm

    Have you been traveling through space using your summer reading passport? WORD wants to celebrate all of your hard work, and all of the books you have read and loved! Join us for snacks and refreshments, special book readings, music, and a raffle (drop off your completed passports at the store or turn them in the day of the party to enter!).

    Pages