Brooklyn

Romance Book Club BK Discusses DARKFEVER

02/01/2020 - 2:45pm

ABOUT THE BOOK

Darkfever: Fever Series Book 1 Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780440240983
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Dell - August 28th, 2007

“A compelling world filled with mystery and vivid characters…will stoke readers’ fervor for Bloodfever, the next installment.” Publishers Weekly
 


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses all about love

02/16/2020 - 5:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

With the warmth and intimacy of M. Scott Peck and in the intellectual tradition of Eric Fromm, bell hooks’ most popular and accessible work ever in which she shows us how to cultivate a love ethic that will heal us as individuals and as a nation

All About Love: New Visions (Love Song to the Nation) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: Backordered
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 30th, 2018

“Each offering from bell hooks is a major event, as she has so much to give us.” -Maya Angelou


WORD BK Presents AT THE INKWELL READING SERIES

01/15/2020 - 7:00pm

 

 

ABOUT THE SERIES

Odes to Lithium Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781948579032
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Alice James Books - September 17th, 2019

Captivating poems and visual art seek to bring comfort and solidarity to anyone living with Bipolar Disorder.


$20.00
SKU: 9870998935898

turn around, BRXGHT XYXS saunters into the reader’s mind like a super sly and seductive voice as ravenous as it is many: a younger-tagging self—Matarose—who "never comes home" declaring her love to some "evil woman of xanadu," and another, who leaves her with only a "Whistling/ Like a fist of the bank in wet/ Season lying through her teeth." Refracted through the lenses of Latinidad, lost love and those "drug restaurants/ that serve only cobra lilies/ with a side of blackbirds/who wield spiked hammers," turn around, B R X G H T X Y X S takes its delight in the chase and not the catch, what is "all the dark side moonwalking after" an uncatchable "you.” turn around, BRXGHT XYXS will seduce you silly, purring lyrical excesses while Matarose "wears her sunglasses at night/ where exploding stars fall/ shock breakout bright." — J. Michael Martinez


In turn around BRXGHT XYXS, Rosebud Ben-Oni opens by summoning Matarose—her alter-ego “muse on roller skates”—a wildly original voice that channels K-pop, hip hop, and the intersectional mestiza soul of the entire borough of Queens to create a sound-driven howling lyric paean—an ecstatic queer broken love-song that’s equal parts Bonnie Tyler and bible, Prince and prayer, and 100% pure desire. Ben-Oni’s poems conjure fierce feminist magic to create a simultaneous ode and lament of a book that reminds us we are the sum of all the parts of our selves: our roots and contradictory loves, all the things we’re born into and out of, the corporeal experiences we only sometimes choose—and she brings it all home with power, humor, grace, and lines like this: “This is my blood and this / my body this time / you won’t betray me / I am your kingdom come.” — Erika Meitner


Mercy, these poems will reawaken a wilderness you swore you’d lost the map to. Ben-Oni is doing sacred work here, strutting across the asperous terrain of our modern world with a queer femme sovereignty that intoxicates and heals; at the center of each poem, a fragrant mosh pit. These are the ruthless texts we bitches deserve—poems that drive their readers into feral ascension—until the claws can’t be pulled back in. — Rachel McKibbens


Rosebud Ben-Oni is an incomparable poet with a voice like no one else. Her poetic work hails from the crossroads of countries and culture, tongues and taboo. Ben-Oni's poetic work hails. At play is a potent poetics of vortices of word and act, love y Justicia. She speaks to Latinidad in “having hope/ in our pop-up whit of the world..../ to never having really left Jerusalem..../ To the hours we (make) horses between nightfall/ and war…” Turn around. BRXGHT XYXS in the house! — Lorna Dee Cervantes


Dave Hill and Malcolm Gladwell [SOLD OUT!]

01/28/2020 - 7:00pm

Dave Hill and Malcolm Gladwell discuss Parking the Moose aka  "the greatest Canada-based literary thrill ride of your life."

Parking the Moose: One American's Epic Quest to Uncover His Incredible Canadian Roots Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780385690041
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Doubleday Canada - October 8th, 2019

A quarter-Canadian from Cleveland explores his roots--and melts your face with joy.


ONE OF US IS READING BOOK GROUP Discusses ALL THE BRIGHT PLACES

03/08/2020 - 3:30pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

All the Bright Places Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780385755917
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ember - September 13th, 2016

NOW A NETFLIX FILM, STARRING ELLE FANNING AND JUSTICE SMITH!

The New York Times bestselling love story about two teens who find each other while standing on the edge.


WORD Presents JONATHAN TEL with ROSEANN LAKE for SCRATCHING THE HEAD OF CHAIRMAN MAO

01/12/2020 - 6:00pm

 

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

 

China is the center of the world, and the center of China is Beijing, and at the center of Beijing is a billionaire financier named Qin. At the opening of this novel-in-stories, Qin is lying in state at his funeral, victim of a sudden and premature death. But it is not until the end of Tel’s biting, virtuosic, post-post-modern feat of cultural observation that the manner of Qin’s death is revealed.

Scratching the Head of Chairman Mao Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781885983725
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Turtle Point Press - January 28th, 2020

"A tour de force of deep knowledge, uncanny powers of observation, and brilliant tragicomic invention." --James Lasdun
"A remarkable and very moving feat of storytelling." --Andrew Holgate
A Foreword Reviews Editor's pick

Money makes Beijing go round in Jonathan Tel's seductive, puzzle-like novel-in-stories.


Leftover in China: The Women Shaping the World's Next Superpower Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393254631
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 13th, 2018

Factory Girls meets The Vagina Monologues in this fascinating narrative on China’s single women—and why they could be the source of its economic future.


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Presents RAPHAËL LIOGIER for HEART OF MALENESS

01/27/2020 - 7:00pm

About the Book

Heart of Maleness: An Exploration Cover Image
By Raphaël Liogier, Antony Shugaar (Translated by)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781635429930
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Other Press - January 28th, 2020

In this timely, self-reflective essay, a groundbreaking sociologist and philosopher examines the underlying causes of gender inequality and how we can fight against it.


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BK presents: Cecil Castellucci with THE PLAIN JANES

01/16/2020 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Join WORD BK for an early evening event with Eisner nominated middle grade graphic novelist extraodinaire CECIL CASTELLUCCI! The Plain Janes are artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward.

TICKETED EVENT: Purchase a copy of The Plain Janes OR purchase a $5 event voucher to secure your spot at this event. $5 voucher is redeemable towards any purchase on the night of the event. 

 

The PLAIN Janes Cover Image
By Cecil Castellucci, Jim Rugg (By (artist))
$26.99
ISBN: 9780316522724
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 7th, 2020

Meet the Plain Janes--artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town. This cult classic graphic novel is perfect for fans of The LumberJanes and Awkward.


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only. 


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses THE REVISIONERS

01/19/2020 - 5:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

In 1924, Josephine is the proud owner of a thriving farm. As a child, she channeled otherworldly power to free herself from slavery. Now her new neighbor, a white woman named Charlotte, seeks her company, and an uneasy friendship grows between them. But Charlotte has also sought solace in the Ku Klux Klan, a relationship that jeopardizes Josephine’s family.

The Revisioners Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781640092587
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Counterpoint LLC - November 5th, 2019

“Extravagantly beautiful…. Enormously, achingly alive…. A howl of love and rage, playful and funny as well as hard and bitter.” —The New York Times


Romance Book Club BK Discusses BOUND FOR EDEN

01/04/2020 - 2:45pm

ABOUT THE BOOK

Bound for Eden (A Frontiers of the Heart novel #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780451492579
Availability: Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - May 1st, 2018

The first novel in a new western historical romance series that will take readers for the ride of their lives on the Oregon Trail.

Alexandra Barratt has found the perfect man--it's a shame he thinks she's a boy...


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn