Brooklyn

Storytime at WORD BK with Hannah Stark

10/27/2019 - 12:00pm

 

Join us at our Greenpoint, Brooklyn location for an interactive storytime with Hannah Stark for her new title Trucker and Train. 

 

**This event is free! 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Trucker and Train Cover Image
By Hannah Stark, Bob Kolar (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544801813
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Clarion Books - August 6th, 2019

Kindness and friendship triumph over bullying in this action-packed story that’s perfect for fans of Little Blue Truck and Loren Long’s Otis stories, and for every vehicle-obsessed little one. 

Trucker, the big rig, loves to rule the road with his size, strength, and mighty horn.


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses THE YELLOW HOUSE

11/23/2019 - 3:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir from a stunning new talent about the inexorable pull of home and family, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans East.

The Yellow House: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802125088
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Grove Press - August 13th, 2019

“Extravagantly beautiful…. Enormously, achingly alive…. A howl of love and rage, playful and funny as well as hard and bitter.” —The New York Times


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses SHE WOULD BE KING

10/26/2019 - 3:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

She Would Be King: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450017
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Graywolf Press - September 3rd, 2019

“Extravagantly beautiful…. Enormously, achingly alive…. A howl of love and rage, playful and funny as well as hard and bitter.” —The New York Times


WORD BK Presents: BYOB Comedy Show

10/10/2019 - 10:30am

 

Join us at WORD for a morning comedy show where bringing your own baby is not only welcome but encouraged. There will also be cookies! Tickets are available below. 

 

DESCRIPTION:

WELCOME TO BYOB (Bring Your Own Baby) Comedy show that features only the HOTTEST and most hilarious comedians in the city! Each ticket gets one adult in with a baby for a one hour comedy show, free cookies, a fun, relaxing and safe environment for parents to meet other parents!

WORD Presents OCEAN VOUNG (SOLD OUT)

10/16/2019 - 7:00pm

***Please note: THIS EVENT IS AT CAPACITY. VOUCHERS ARE NO LONGER AVAILABLE.***

ABOUT ON EARTH WE’RE BRIEFLY GORGEOUS

An instant New York Times Bestseller! 

On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525562023
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Press - June 4th, 2019

The event is sold out. If you purchase a book after 10/2/19, that does not constitute a ticket. 


WORD Presents Christopher McDougall for Running With Sherman

10/30/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note: admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

About the book:

Running with Sherman: The Donkey with the Heart of a Hero Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781524732363
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Knopf - October 15th, 2019

"A delight, full of heart and hijinks and humor . . . McDougall is a gifted storyteller who gets to the heart of the human-animal connection." --John Grogan, author of Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog


$5.00
SKU: shermanvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Presents Susan Plunket

10/29/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note: admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

About the Book

Mission from Venus: Book I Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781789041705
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Cosmic Egg Books - November 1st, 2019

$5.00
SKU: plunketvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Presents Annabel Gat for The Astrology of Love & Sex

10/28/2019 - 7:00pm

Bringing the ancient matchmaking tool of astrology into the 21st century, The Astrology of Love & Sex explores the romantic and sensual sides of the zodiac. In 12 detailed chapters, astrologer Annabel Gat divulges how each sign likes to flirt, date, and fool around. This book candidly explores love and lust in today's sexually fluid world: From love philosophies to sexual inclinations, readers will enjoy dissecting and analyzing each passage.

The Astrology of Love & Sex: A Modern Compatibility Guide (Zodiac Signs Book, Birthday and Relationship Astrology Book) Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781452173436
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Chronicle Books - July 30th, 2019

The Astrology of Love & Sex: A Modern Compatibility Guide explores the romantic and sensual sides of the zodiac signs.

With unique compatibility profiles matching every sign, as well as a quiz to identify your star match, this is a fun and comprehensive guide to finding true cosmic love.


$5.00
SKU: gatvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Presents Helene Saucedo

10/22/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note: admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

About the Book

Handful of Stars: A Palmistry Guidebook and Hand-Printing Kit Cover Image
$39.99
ISBN: 9780062899361
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Harper Design - October 15th, 2019

"In Handful of Stars, the hand becomes an exquisite map . . . wise, trusted, and uniquely our own. Beautiful and mysterious."—Kim Krans, artist and author of the New York Times bestseller The Wild Unknown Tarot, The Wild Unknown Animal Spirit, and The Wild Unknown Journal


$5.00
SKU: helenevoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Presents Lara Vapnyar in conversation with Dagmara Dominczyk

10/15/2019 - 7:00pm

Please note that admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only. 

Divide Me by Zero Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781947793422
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Tin House Books - October 15th, 2019

As a young girl, Katya Geller learned from her mother that math was the answer to everything. Now, approaching forty, she finds this wisdom tested: she has lost the love of her life, she is in the middle of a divorce, and has just found out that her mother is dying.


$5.00
SKU: vapnyarvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


The Lullaby of Polish Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812983821
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Spiegel & Grau - February 25th, 2014

Includes an interview featuring Dagmara Dominczyk and Adriana Trigiani

A vibrant, engaging debut novel that follows the friendship of three women from their youthful days in Poland to their complicated, not-quite-successful adult lives
 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn