Brooklyn

WORD BK presents: Neal Shusterman with The Toll

02/23/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us at WORD Greenpoint as we celebrate the release of The Toll, the highly-anticipated thrilling conclusion to the Printz Honor–winning Arc of a Scythe series by bestselling author, Neal Shusterman!

The Toll (Arc of a Scythe #3) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481497060
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 5th, 2019

In the highly anticipated finale to the New York Times bestselling trilogy, dictators, prophets, and tensions rise. In a world that’s conquered death, will humanity finally be torn asunder by the immortal beings it created?

Citra and Rowan have disappeared. Endura is gone.


$5.00
SKU: shustermanvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BK presents: Robin Ha with Almost American Girl

02/15/2020 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm

Join us for an evening with bestselling graphic novelist (and former BK local!) Robin Ha, in conversation with journalist Hannah Bae as they Ha's latest work, Almost American Girl!

 

About the Book: 

Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.


WORD BROOKLYN Presents Myla Goldberg

02/26/2020 - 7:00pm

“A daringly inventive parable of female creativity and motherhood” (O, The Oprah Magazine) from Myla Goldberg, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Bee Season, about a female photographer grappling with ambition and motherhood—a balancing act familiar to women of every generation.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Feast Your Eyes: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501197857
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Scribner - February 18th, 2020

ONE OF NPR’S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

2020 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence Finalist

2019 National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist

“A daringly inventive parable of female creativity and motherhood” (O, The Oprah Magazine) from Myla Goldberg, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Bee Season, a


$5.00
SKU: mylavoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BROOKLYN Presents Stephanie Thornton Plymale

02/11/2020 - 11:00am

American Daughter tells an extraordinary story of trauma, healing, transcendence, and generational redemption in this powerful memoir by Stephanie Thornton Plymale, who is currently the CEO of Heritage School of Interior Design, a premier and growing national interior design school.

Pre-Order Now Badge
American Daughter: A Memoir of Intergenerational Trauma, a Mother's Dark Secrets, and a Daughter's Quest for Redemption Cover Image
By Stephanie Plymale, Elissa Wald (Contribution by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781632992529
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: River Grove Books - February 11th, 2020

As CEO and visionary of the Heritage School of Interior Design--the premier interior design school on the west coast--Stephanie Thornton Plymale kept her past a fiercely guarded secret.


$5.00
SKU: plymalevoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


Gilmore Girls Book Group BK Discusses DANTE'S INFERNO

02/23/2020 - 5:00pm

ABOUT THE BOOK

The Divine Comedy: Volume 1: Inferno Cover Image
By Dante Alighieri, Mark Musa (Translated by), Mark Musa (Introduction by), Mark Musa (Commentaries by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780142437223
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Classics - December 31st, 2002

"Musa operates on the principle that a translator's first duty is to render the original text as exactly as possible without compromising the literary quality of the work.... [This is] the best English-language version of the Inferno currently available." —Library Journal


WRBG Book Club BK Discusses all about love

02/16/2020 - 5:00pm

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

With the warmth and intimacy of M. Scott Peck and in the intellectual tradition of Eric Fromm, bell hooks’ most popular and accessible work ever in which she shows us how to cultivate a love ethic that will heal us as individuals and as a nation

All About Love: New Visions Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 30th, 2018

“Each offering from bell hooks is a major event, as she has so much to give us.” -Maya Angelou


WORD Brooklyn presents JULIA MCKENZIE MUNEMO for THE BOOK KEEPER

03/26/2020 - 7:00pm

 

 

Please note that admission to this event requires either a purchase of the book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward $5 off anything in store at WORD on the day of the event only.

About the Book

The Book Keeper: A Memoir of Race, Love, and Legacy Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780804012218
Availability: Backordered
Published: Swallow Press - January 14th, 2020

When a stack of interracial romance novels written by her long-dead father landed on Julia McKenzie Munemo’s kitchen table, she—a white woman—had been married to a black man for six years and their first son was a toddler.


$5.00
SKU: keepervoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BK Presents AT THE INKWELL READING SERIES

01/15/2020 - 7:00pm

 

 

ABOUT THE SERIES

Odes to Lithium Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781948579032
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Alice James Books - September 17th, 2019

In this remarkable debut, Shira Erlichman pens a love letter to Lithium, her medication for Bipolar Disorder. With inventiveness, compassion, and humor, she thrusts us into a world of unconventional praise.


$20.00
SKU: 9870998935898

turn around, BRXGHT XYXS saunters into the reader’s mind like a super sly and seductive voice as ravenous as it is many: a younger-tagging self—Matarose—who "never comes home" declaring her love to some "evil woman of xanadu," and another, who leaves her with only a "Whistling/ Like a fist of the bank in wet/ Season lying through her teeth." Refracted through the lenses of Latinidad, lost love and those "drug restaurants/ that serve only cobra lilies/ with a side of blackbirds/who wield spiked hammers," turn around, B R X G H T X Y X S takes its delight in the chase and not the catch, what is "all the dark side moonwalking after" an uncatchable "you.” turn around, BRXGHT XYXS will seduce you silly, purring lyrical excesses while Matarose "wears her sunglasses at night/ where exploding stars fall/ shock breakout bright." — J. Michael Martinez


In turn around BRXGHT XYXS, Rosebud Ben-Oni opens by summoning Matarose—her alter-ego “muse on roller skates”—a wildly original voice that channels K-pop, hip hop, and the intersectional mestiza soul of the entire borough of Queens to create a sound-driven howling lyric paean—an ecstatic queer broken love-song that’s equal parts Bonnie Tyler and bible, Prince and prayer, and 100% pure desire. Ben-Oni’s poems conjure fierce feminist magic to create a simultaneous ode and lament of a book that reminds us we are the sum of all the parts of our selves: our roots and contradictory loves, all the things we’re born into and out of, the corporeal experiences we only sometimes choose—and she brings it all home with power, humor, grace, and lines like this: “This is my blood and this / my body this time / you won’t betray me / I am your kingdom come.” — Erika Meitner


Mercy, these poems will reawaken a wilderness you swore you’d lost the map to. Ben-Oni is doing sacred work here, strutting across the asperous terrain of our modern world with a queer femme sovereignty that intoxicates and heals; at the center of each poem, a fragrant mosh pit. These are the ruthless texts we bitches deserve—poems that drive their readers into feral ascension—until the claws can’t be pulled back in. — Rachel McKibbens


Rosebud Ben-Oni is an incomparable poet with a voice like no one else. Her poetic work hails from the crossroads of countries and culture, tongues and taboo. Ben-Oni's poetic work hails. At play is a potent poetics of vortices of word and act, love y Justicia. She speaks to Latinidad in “having hope/ in our pop-up whit of the world..../ to never having really left Jerusalem..../ To the hours we (make) horses between nightfall/ and war…” Turn around. BRXGHT XYXS in the house! — Lorna Dee Cervantes


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn