You are here

Brooklyn

    WORD Presents Gabriel Tallent for the paperback launch of MY ABSOLUTE DARLING

    06/26/2018 - 7:30pm

    Join us for a beer or glass of wine and celebrate the beautiful, heartrending, and stunning debut novel from Gabriel Tallent on the day of its paperback release! Did you miss one of the best reviewed novels of 2017 the first go round? Been holding out for a travel friendly paperback? Or you just can't get enought Darling? You won't want to miss this event. 

    My Absolute Darling Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9780735211186
    Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
    Published: Riverhead Books - June 26th, 2018

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
    LA TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST
    NBCC JOHN LEONARD PRIZE FINALIST
    ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES'S MOST NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2017
    ONE OF THE WASHINGTON POST'S MOST NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2017
    ONE OF NPR'S 'GREAT READS' OF 2017
    A USA TODAY BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR


    $5 admission to see  Gabriel Tallent at 7:30 p.m. on June 26 at WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including My Absolute Darling. Please note that if you purchase a copy of the book from WORD that there is no need to purchase a voucher. 


    Sartorial Geek X WORD Happy Hour: Book Club Edition!

    06/29/2018 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

    WORD is thrilled to welcome back the Sartorial Geek for their summer kick-off book club! The Sartorial Geek loves reading in all forms, whether it be novels, graphic novels, one-issues, poems, etc. We love reading and we want all of you to join us in our passion. We'll be announcing our July book for the Sartorial Geek Book Club!

    Admit One to the WORD x Sartorial Happy Hour at our Greenpoint, Brooklyn Location. 

    Tickets are $10 when purchased online and $12 when purchased at the door/in-store.

    Please note that if you select the "pay at store" option at check-out, a ticket will be held for you and you will be charged $12 at the door. 

     

     

     


    Wards of Merkin Comedy Night

    06/22/2018 - 7:30pm

    Comedy is back at WORD!

    We're delighted to have the Wards of Merkin back in the house for an all star showing.

    Admission is $10 cash at the door.

    WORD Presents a walking tour of Greenpoint with author Adrienne Onofri

    06/16/2018 - 1:00pm to 3:00pm

    Join the WORDies and Adrienne Onofri for a guided tour of our beloved Greenpoint and discuss its long history and recent changes. We'll start our tour with a quick meet up at the Brooklyn store and begin and end with a freshing glass of wine or juice and copies of Walking Brooklyn. Water bottles will be provided on the tour and a discussion back at the shop will finish up the event. 

    $20.00
    SKU: walkingticket

    1 ticket to the walking tour of Greenpoint, BK with author Adrienne Onofri including wine and water refreshments and a copy of Walking Brooklyn. 


    WORD Presents Madeline Miller for CIRCE

    06/21/2018 - 7:30pm

    We're delighted to welcome Madeline Miller, bestselling author of The Song of Achilles, to WORD Brooklyn for an evening of light refreshment and conversation on her latest novel Circe, a spell-binding and profoundly imaginative retelling of the goddess's story. 

    About the book

    Circe Cover Image
    $27.00
    ISBN: 9780316556347
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

    #1 New York Times Bestseller
    " A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story, Circe manages to be both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right." --- Alexandra Alter, New York Times


    $5.00
    SKU: circevoucher

    $5 admission to see Madeline Miller at 7:30 p.m. on June 21 at WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Circe. Please note that if you purchase a copy of Circe from WORD there is no need to purchase a voucher. 


    Geek Girl Strong's Fangirl Dance Party (Sponsored by Logan Arch)

    06/23/2018 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm

    Geek Girl Strong is a wellness community for female-identifying people (and some men) who want a non-traditional and wholistic coaching experience ...and Geek Girl Strong is hosting a dance party!

    This FANGIRL DANCE PARTY is for anyone who identifies as a fangirl. Get a dance work-out while you geek-out!

    We're partying Cantina style, so of course you can smuggle (BYOB)!

    Join us for:

    A geek girl dance playlist

    Free "bar" snacks

    Star Wars themed raffles and more!

    Admit one to the Geek Girl Strong Fangirl Dance Party at our Greenpoint, Brooklyn store. 

    Tickets are $22 when purchased online and $24 when purchased at the door/in-store.

    Please note that if you select "pay at store" at check-out, a ticket will be held for you and you'll be charged $24 at the door. 


    Storytime with Elanna Allen for PET DAD

    06/09/2018 - 3:00pm

    Bring your little ones to Elanna Allen's delightful reading of Pet Dad

    Pet Dad Cover Image
    $16.99
    ISBN: 9780525428268
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Dial Books - May 1st, 2018

    Plum wants the perfect pet, but instead realizes she has the perfect dad in this charming and hilarious picture book that's great for father's day.


    WORD Presents Hannah Orenstein for PLAYING WITH MATCHES

    06/28/2018 - 7:00pm

    We love a good, hilarious story about modern dating, and are thus thrillled to welcome Hannah Orenstein for her debut novel Playing with Matches, an addictive, laugh-out-loud funny story about dating in today’s swipe-heavy society. Join us at WORD Brooklyn and settle in for a delicious evening of laughter, wine, and perhaps even, commiserations about dating in the city. 

    About the book

    Playing with Matches Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781501178481
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Touchstone Books - June 26th, 2018

    In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.


    $5.00
    SKU: Hannahvoucher

    $5 admission to see Hannah Orenstein at 7:00 p.m. on June 28 at WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Playing with Matches. 

     

     

     

     

     


    WORD presents GOODBYE, SWEET GIRL with Kelly Sundberg in conversation with Hillary Brenhouse

    06/06/2018 - 7:30pm

    Goodbye, Sweet Girl: A Story of Domestic Violence and Survival Cover Image
    $26.99
    ISBN: 9780062497673
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Harper - June 5th, 2018

    “It is a hell of a thing to write about brutality and suffering with strength, grace, generosity and beauty. That’s precisely what Kelly Sundberg has done in her gripping memoir about marriage and domestic violence. Sundberg’s honesty is astonishing, how she laid so much of herself bare, how she did not demonize a man who deserves to be demonized.


    $5.00
    SKU: Kellysvoucher

    $5 admission to see Kelly Sundberg at 7:30 p.m. on June 6, 2018 at WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Goodbye, Sweet Girl.


    WORD Presents Amanda Wasielewski for MADE IN BROOKLYN in conversation with Chloe Wyma

    07/12/2018 - 7:30pm

    Join us for a night of conversation and wine as Amanda Wasielewski, author of Made in Brooklyn, leads a much-needed discussion on the DIY/craft/maker movement and artist-led gentrification, focusing on Brooklyn in particular. 

    Made in Brooklyn: Artists, Hipsters, Makers, and Gentrification Cover Image
    $24.95
    ISBN: 9781785356582
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Zero Books - May 25th, 2018

    Made in Brooklyn provides a belated critique of the Maker Movement: from its origins in the nineteenth century to its impact on labor and its entanglement in the neoliberal economic model of the tech industry. This critique is rooted in a case study of one neighborhood in Brooklyn, where artists occupy former factory buildings as makers.


    $5.00
    SKU: Amandavoucher

    $5 admission to see Amanda Wasielewski at 7:30 p.m. on July 12, 2018 at WORD Bookstores in Brooklyn. Your $5 voucher can be used towards anything in store, including Made in Brooklyn


    Pages