Brooklyn

WORD BROOKLYN PRESENTS: Caitlin Mullen for PLEASE SEE US

03/03/2020 - 7:00pm

 

Please note that entry to this event requires either a purchase of a book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward anything in-store at WORD on the day of the event only. Seating is limited. First come, first served.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Please See Us Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982127480
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Gallery Books - March 3rd, 2020

"Please See Us is riveting, the rare book that unpacks and deplores violence against women even as it depicts it. In Caitlin Mullen’s hands, everyone has a voice, and the dead speak as loudly as the living. Please See Us is a beautifully written, thoughtful page-turner, as well as a tribute to the women— not just victims, but full human beings—who so frequently go unseen."

– Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

 


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BROOKLYN PRESENTS: Kimmery Martin for ANTIDOTE FOR EVERYTHING

03/09/2020 - 7:00pm

Please note that entry to this event requires either a purchase of a book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward anything in-store at WORD on the day of the event only. Seating is limited. First come, first served.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

The Antidote for Everything Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984802835
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Berkley - February 18th, 2020

 

"This book. THIS BOOK. It’s so good that I’ve read it twice (and it doesn’t even come out until next year). It had me Googling like a madwoman, falling in love with complicated characters and impossible situations, and hugging it when I was finished. The description of this book didn’t grip me the way Kimmery Martin's debut did (The Queen Of Hearts, which I also loved), but I was hooked by this one from the very beginning. It’s substantive, incredibly timely, but also just an incredibly written novel that makes you feel and makes you think." -- Hitha Palepu


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


Romance Book Club BK Discusses MISTRESS FIREBRAND

03/07/2020 - 2:45pm

ABOUT THE BOOK

From the author of The Rebel Pirate comes a third action-packed novel with thrilling romance set during the American Revolution.

Mistress Firebrand (Renegades of the American Revolution #3) Cover Image
This item is currently unavailable and can not be ordered.
ISBN: 9780451471017
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Berkley - March 3rd, 2015

“Held me spellbound…I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend it!”—Mary BaloghNew York Times bestselling author of Beyond the Sunrise and Longing


WORD BK Presents: Fifth Annual Galentine's Day

02/13/2020 - 7:00pm to 10:00pm

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single (or not) woman in possession of good taste must be in want of a romance novel. Join us at Saint Vitus Bar in Greenpoint for our fifth annual Galentine's Day, hosted by Romance Book Club leader Maddie Caldwell and featuring authors Maya Rodale, Zoraida Córdova, Adriana Herrera, Kate Clayborn, and Andie Christopher.

WORD BK presents: Neal Shusterman with The Toll

02/23/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us at WORD Greenpoint as we celebrate the release of The Toll, the highly-anticipated thrilling conclusion to the Printz Honor–winning Arc of a Scythe series by bestselling author, Neal Shusterman!

The Toll (Arc of a Scythe #3) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481497060
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 5th, 2019

In the highly anticipated finale to the New York Times bestselling trilogy, dictators, prophets, and tensions rise. In a world that’s conquered death, will humanity finally be torn asunder by the immortal beings it created?

Citra and Rowan have disappeared. Endura is gone.


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BK presents: Robin Ha with Almost American Girl

02/15/2020 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm

Join us for an evening with bestselling graphic novelist (and former BK local!) Robin Ha, in conversation with journalist Hannah Bae as they Ha's latest work, Almost American Girl!

 

About the Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, KiddoThis nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling.


WORD BROOKLYN Presents Myla Goldberg

02/26/2020 - 7:00pm

“A daringly inventive parable of female creativity and motherhood” (O, The Oprah Magazine) from Myla Goldberg, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Bee Season, about a female photographer grappling with ambition and motherhood—a balancing act familiar to women of every generation.

Feast Your Eyes: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501197857
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Scribner - February 18th, 2020

ONE OF NPR’S BEST BOOKS OF 2019

2020 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence Finalist

2019 National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist

“A daringly inventive parable of female creativity and motherhood” (O, The Oprah Magazine) from Myla Goldberg, the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Bee Season, a


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BROOKLYN Presents Stephanie Thornton Plymale

02/11/2020 - 11:00am

American Daughter tells an extraordinary story of trauma, healing, transcendence, and generational redemption in this powerful memoir by Stephanie Thornton Plymale, who is currently the CEO of Heritage School of Interior Design, a premier and growing national interior design school.

American Daughter: A Memoir of Intergenerational Trauma, a Mother's Dark Secrets, and a Daughter's Quest for Redemption Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781632992529
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: River Grove Books - January 9th, 2020

"American Daughter-in the tradition of classics like The Glass Castle, LA Diaries and White Oleander-explores in unsparing details the complex interplay between intimate family ties, generational abuse and cataclysmic losses." - Gina Frangello, Author of 'Every Kind of Wanting' and 'A Life in Men' Editor of The Coachella Review


$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


YA Oughta Book Group JC Discusses ALMOST AMERICAN GIRL

02/15/2020 - 6:30pm

**IMPORTANT: The time and location for this month's meeting have changed!  This month's meeting will directly follow a book talk with Robin Han and Hannah Bae at our Greenpoint, Brooklyn location at 7:30pm.**

ABOUT THE BOOK

Staff Pick Badge
Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

“Touching and subtly humorous, this emotive memoir is as much about the steadfast bond between a mother and daughter as it is about the challenges of being an immigrant in America.” -Publishers Weekly


Gilmore Girls Book Group BK Discusses DANTE'S INFERNO

02/23/2020 - 2:00pm

ABOUT THE BOOK

The Divine Comedy: Volume 1: Inferno Cover Image
By Dante Alighieri, Mark Musa (Translated by), Mark Musa (Introduction by), Mark Musa (Commentaries by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780142437223
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Penguin Classics - December 31st, 2002

"Musa operates on the principle that a translator's first duty is to render the original text as exactly as possible without compromising the literary quality of the work.... [This is] the best English-language version of the Inferno currently available." —Library Journal


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn