Brooklyn

Independent & Small Press Book Group discusses THE FACTORY

04/05/2020 - 5:00pm

 

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

The English-language debut of Hiroko Oyamada—one of the most powerfully strange young voices in Japan

The Factory Cover Image
By Hiroko Oyamada, David Boyd (Translated by)
$13.95
ISBN: 9780811228855
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: New Directions - October 29th, 2019

“A noteworthy young female writer with a distinctive voice.” - Lithub


WORD BK presents Thomas Lennon with Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death!!

04/04/2020 - 4:00pm

Bring your kids to WORD for an event with Reno 911's Thomas Lennon, author of Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death

Celebrate this super fun sequel chock-full of leprechaun hijinks, man-eating elves, unicorn entertainers and more! You don't want to miss this one!

Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle #2) Cover Image
By Thomas Lennon, John Hendrix (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419741135
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Amulet Books - March 17th, 2020

The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller, set in the world of law-breaking leprechauns from actor and writer Thomas Lennon
 
Ronan Boyle may be the youngest and lowliest recruit to the secret Garda, but he’s determined to save his captain from the harpy that dragged her into Tir Na Nog at the end of book one.


$5.00
SKU: LennonVoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD Brooklyn presents BILL GREER with A DIRTY YEAR

04/23/2020 - 7:00pm

Join WORD Brooklyn for an evening of mirth, mystery, and murder with Bill Greer to celebrate the release of his new, macabre history of New York A Dirty Year!

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Dirty Year: Sex, Suffrage, and Scandal in Gilded Age New York Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781641602518
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chicago Review Press - April 7th, 2020

As 1872 opened, the New York Times headlined four stories that symptomized the decay in public morals that the editors so frequently decried: financier Jim Fisk was gunned down in a love triangle; suffragist and free-love advocate Victoria Woodhull was running for president; anti-vice activist Anthony Comstock battled smut dealers poisoning children’s minds; and abortionists were thrivi


$5.00
SKU: dirtyvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BROOKLYN PRESENTS: Caitlin Mullen for PLEASE SEE US

03/03/2020 - 7:00pm

 

Please note that entry to this event requires either a purchase of a book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward anything in-store at WORD on the day of the event only. Seating is limited. First come, first served.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Please See Us Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781982127480
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Gallery Books - March 3rd, 2020

"Please See Us is riveting, the rare book that unpacks and deplores violence against women even as it depicts it. In Caitlin Mullen’s hands, everyone has a voice, and the dead speak as loudly as the living. Please See Us is a beautifully written, thoughtful page-turner, as well as a tribute to the women— not just victims, but full human beings—who so frequently go unseen."

– Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists

 


$5.00
SKU: caitlinvouch

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BROOKLYN PRESENTS: Kimmery Martin for ANTIDOTE FOR EVERYTHING

03/09/2020 - 7:00pm

Please note that entry to this event requires either a purchase of a book OR a $5 admission voucher. Books and vouchers can be purchased online in advance or at the door on the day of the event; advance orders will be available for pickup at the store on the day of the event. The admission voucher functions like a gift card and is good toward anything in-store at WORD on the day of the event only. Seating is limited. First come, first served.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

The Antidote for Everything Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984802835
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Berkley - February 18th, 2020

 

"This book. THIS BOOK. It’s so good that I’ve read it twice (and it doesn’t even come out until next year). It had me Googling like a madwoman, falling in love with complicated characters and impossible situations, and hugging it when I was finished. The description of this book didn’t grip me the way Kimmery Martin's debut did (The Queen Of Hearts, which I also loved), but I was hooked by this one from the very beginning. It’s substantive, incredibly timely, but also just an incredibly written novel that makes you feel and makes you think." -- Hitha Palepu


$5.00
SKU: antidotevouch

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


Romance Book Club BK Discusses MISTRESS FIREBRAND

03/07/2020 - 2:45pm

ABOUT THE BOOK

From the author of The Rebel Pirate comes a third action-packed novel with thrilling romance set during the American Revolution.

Mistress Firebrand (Renegades of the American Revolution #3) Cover Image
This item is currently unavailable and can not be ordered.
ISBN: 9780451471017
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Berkley - March 3rd, 2015

“Held me spellbound…I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend it!”—Mary BaloghNew York Times bestselling author of Beyond the Sunrise and Longing


WORD BK Presents: Fifth Annual Galentine's Day

02/13/2020 - 7:00pm to 10:00pm

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single (or not) woman in possession of good taste must be in want of a romance novel. Join us at Saint Vitus Bar in Greenpoint for our fifth annual Galentine's Day, hosted by Romance Book Club leader Maddie Caldwell and featuring authors Maya Rodale, Zoraida Córdova, Adriana Herrera, Kate Clayborn, and Andie Christopher.

WORD BK presents: Neal Shusterman with The Toll

02/23/2020 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm

Join us at WORD Greenpoint as we celebrate the release of The Toll, the highly-anticipated thrilling conclusion to the Printz Honor–winning Arc of a Scythe series by bestselling author, Neal Shusterman!

The Toll (Arc of a Scythe #3) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481497060
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 5th, 2019

In the highly anticipated finale to the New York Times bestselling trilogy, dictators, prophets, and tensions rise. In a world that’s conquered death, will humanity finally be torn asunder by the immortal beings it created?

Citra and Rowan have disappeared. Endura is gone.


$5.00
SKU: tollvoucher

$5 admission voucher to this event. Your voucher functions like a gift card and can be used toward anything in store on the night of the event only.


WORD BK presents: Robin Ha with Almost American Girl

02/15/2020 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm

Join us for an evening with bestselling graphic novelist (and former BK local!) Robin Ha, in conversation with journalist Hannah Bae as they Ha's latest work, Almost American Girl!

 

About the Book: 

Staff Pick Badge
Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir Cover Image
By Robin Ha, Robin Ha (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062685094
Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 28th, 2020

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, KiddoThis nonfiction graphic novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling.


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Brooklyn