Scale (Other)

Scale Cover Image
By Keith Buckley (Read by), Joe Trohman (Performed by), Josh Newton (Performed by)
Available from our distributor; usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Ray Goldman will outdrink you, out-party you and, unfortunately for him, probably outlive you. As a hopeless and struggling indie rock musician, Ray's best chance of discovering any beauty and purpose in his dysfunctional life will come only when he ceases to struggle against life itself. These are his memoirs.

Scale chronicles Ray Goldman's journey downward through the adversarial trials that sometimes prove necessary in facilitating an eventual ascent into truth and happiness. The odd chapters of the novel find Ray, now a 31-year-old guitar player, seeking fulfillment in the wake of a life-altering tragedy while the even chapters see him reflecting on the depravity and selfishness that hastened his descent towards it. Scale is about the relationship between instability and balance, death and resurrection, perception and reality, but ultimately it is about the endless war waged between our disquieted minds and our noble hearts.

Fans of pop culture, Americana, Punk Rock music, and Charles Bukowski's Ham on Rye.

About the Author

Keith Buckley is the vocalist and lyricist for the critically acclaimed punk rock act Every Time I Die, which has sold hundreds of thousands of records worldwide and has amassed a substantial fan base while touring the globe for over a decade. He lives in Buffalo, NY. Joe Trohman is the guitarist and co-songwriter for the platinum-selling rock band Fall Out Boy. He is also a cofounder of The Damned Things with Keith Buckley, Josh Newton, and Scott Ian from Anthrax. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and daughter. Josh Newton is the bass player of The Damned Things with Keith Buckley, Joe Trohman, and Scott Ian from Anthrax. He lives in Los Angeles.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781942600817
ISBN-10: 194260081X
Publisher: Rare Bird Books
Publication Date: May 24th, 2016
Language: English