You are here

Echo of the Boom (Paperback)

    $18.00
    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    Staff Reviews


    Echo of the Boom follows four teenagers with very different backgrounds as they grapple with the state of their little worlds, the world at large, and all of the possible points of convergence. One is a social media empress who dreams of the end of the world every night. One is a Katniss-like figure raised by survivalists. One gets kicked out of so many schools that he creates an index where other students can predict how long he'll last at the next school. And one travels the world and learns about his father's CIA past. Great characters, great voice, great book design. For fans of DFW and Don DeLillo and anyone who has a sinking suspicion that the apocalypse is upon us.  (Emily)

    — From Emily

    Echo of the Boom follows four teenagers with very different backgrounds as they grapple with the state of their little worlds, the world at large, and all of the possible points of convergence. One is a social media empress who dreams of the end of the world every night. One is a Katniss-like figure raised by survivalists. One gets kicked out of so many schools that he creates an index where other students can predict how long he'll last at the next school. And one travels the world and learns about his father's CIA past. Great characters, great voice, great book design. For fans of DFW and Don DeLillo and anyone who has a sinking suspicion that the apocalypse is upon us.  (Emily)

    — From Emily

    Description


    Efram gets kicked out of every school in the known universe.

    Molly is raised in total isolation by survivalists.

    Steven grows up globetrotting with his ex-spy father.

    Chloe rules three thousand students with an iron fist.

    A frenetic journey through contemporary youth culture, Echo of the Boom follows the lives of these four characters as their narratives orbit and intertwine. They wage personal wars, grapple for power, and attempt to understand their roles in the future of society--or their destiny in hastening its destruction. The result is a mesmerizing collection of triumphs and calamities, a chronicle brimming with the language of music, social networking, and video games.

    Equal parts Gossip Girl and Gravity's Rainbow, Echo of the Boom is a generation defining novel, a new kind of literature explicitly suited to the twenty-first century.

    About the Author


    Maxwell Neely-Cohen was born and raised in Washington, DC, where he spent his teenage years skateboarding and DJing. A graduate of Sarah Lawrence College, he lives in New York City. Echo of the Boom is his first novel.
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9781940207179
    ISBN-10: 1940207177
    Publisher: Rare Bird Books, a Barnacle Book
    Publication Date: April 15th, 2014
    Pages: 478
    Language: English