You are here

Darker Still: A Novel of Magic Most Foul (Paperback)

    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    November 2011 Indie Next List

    “Natalie Stewart wonders where she belongs--in a freak show beside snake charmers and conjoined twins or in an asylum with other mute although not deaf teens? Since her mother died when she was a baby, Natalie has not been able to voice her feelings or thoughts, until the day she meets Lord Denbury -- or to be exact, a much sought after portrait of him by an unknown artist. In the manner of The Picture of Dorian Gray, Hieber has created an exquisite love story. Teens will love Natalie and Lord Denbury and hope for further adventures.”
    — Karen Briggs, Great Northern Books and Hobbies, Oscoda, MI


    A lush gothic tale that begs for reading...I couldn't put it down." --New York Times bestselling author Sarah Maclean

    I was obssessed.

    It was as if he called to me, demanding I reach out and touch the brushstrokes of color swirled onto the canvas. It was the most exquisite portrait I'd ever seen--everything about Lord Denbury was unbelievable...utterly breathtaking and eerily lifelike.

    There was a reason for that. Because despite what everyone said, Denbury never had committed suicide. He was alive. Trapped within his golden frame.

    I've crossed over into his world within the painting, and I've seen what dreams haunt him. They haunt me too. He and I are inextricably linked--bound together to watch the darkness seeping through the gas-lit cobblestone strets of Manhattan. And unless I can free him soon, things will only get Darker Still.

    Magic Most Foul Series:
    Darker Still (Book 1)
    The Twisted Tragedy of Miss Natalie Stewart (Book 2)

    About the Author

    Raised in rural Ohio and obsessed with the Victorian Era, Leanna's life goal is to be a "gateway drug to 19th century literature." An actress, playwright and award winning author, she lives in New York City and is a devotee of ghost stories and Goth clubs. Visit
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9781402260520
    ISBN-10: 1402260520
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
    Publication Date: November 8th, 2011
    Pages: 320
    Language: English