Cattywampus (Hardcover)

Cattywampus Cover Image
$17.99
In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
WORD Brooklyn
3 on hand, as of Dec 5 12:45pm
(Graphic Novels (Kids))
WORD Jersey City
3 on hand, as of Dec 5 12:45pm
(Chapter Books/Middle Gra)

Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List


Cattywampus is filled with raccoon familiars, magic, and two kids aimed at saving their town from generations of zombie ancestors brought on by a spell gone bad! I loved the sense of place Ash Van Otterloo has brought to this book, plus the wonderful language and some beautiful representation.”
— Nathaniel Hattrick, Ballast Book Company, Bremerton, WA

Description


The magical story of a hex that goes haywire, and the power of friendship to set things right!

In the town of Howler's Hollow, conjuring magic is strictly off-limits. Only nothing makes Delpha McGill's skin crawl more than rules. So when she finds her family's secret book of hexes, she's itching to use it to banish her mama's money troubles. She just has to keep it quieter than a church mouse -- not exactly Delpha's specialty.

Trouble is, Katybird Hearn is hankering to get her hands on the spell book, too. The daughter of a rival witching family, Katy has reasons of her own for wanting to learn forbidden magic, and she's not going to let an age-old feud or Delpha's contrary ways stop her. But their quarrel accidentally unleashes a hex so heinous it resurrects a graveyard full of angry Hearn and McGill ancestors bent on total destruction. If Delpha and Katy want to reverse the spell in time to save everyone in the Hollow from rampaging zombies, they'll need to mend fences and work together.

Fans of A Snicker of Magic and The Witch Boy will love this funny, folksy, fresh debut from Ash Van Otterloo that proves sometimes it takes two witches to make the strongest magic happen.

About the Author


Ash Van Otterloo is the debut author of Cattywampus. When they're not writing and freelance editing, they love gardening, hiking, exchanging playful banter, and collecting folklore stories. A longtime resident of the foothills of the Smoky Mountains, they now live in Washington with their spouse and four feral children.

Praise For…


Praise forCattywampus:

"A spirited debut." -- Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781338561593
ISBN-10: 1338561596
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: August 4th, 2020
Pages: 288