Evil Librarian (Paperback)

Evil Librarian Cover Image
This item is currently unavailable and can not be ordered.
Backordered

Description


“Forget paranormal romance; this horror-humor-romance pastiche is where those in search of hot nonhumans should set their sights.” — Kirkus Reviews

When Cynthia Rothschild’s best friend, Annie, falls head over heels for the new high-school librarian, Cyn can totally see why. He’s really young and super cute and thinks Annie would make an excellent library monitor. But before long Cyn realizes that Mr. Gabriel is, in fact, a demon. Now, in addition to saving the school musical and trying not to make a fool of herself with her own hopeless crush, Cyn has to save her best friend—and, it seems, the entire student body—from the clutches of the evil librarian. Multitalented author Michelle Knudsen has crafted the perfect novel for teens who like their horror served up with a bit of romance, plenty of humor, and some pretty hot guys (of both the good and evil varieties).

About the Author


  

Praise For…


It’s all terrifically entertaining from start to finish, with Cyn’s wry voice narrating her transformation from musical theater–loving, crush-having teen to musical theater–loving, crush-having teen who can also kick some demon butt. The plot is particularly well done here, with several encounters with Mr. Gabriel and other demons providing moments of both horror and humor and eventually culminating in the final demon/human battle.
—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

[A] self-aware supernatural dramedy... The writing is clever, the tone wry, and the stakes high, with surprises that keep the plot unpredictable. Cyn’s internal monologue provides plenty of amusement, especially when her hormones threaten to overpower her common sense. It’s an entertaining tale with room for future installments.
—Publishers Weekly

Snappily narrated, tightly plotted and generally just right. Forget paranormal romance; this horror-humor-romance pastiche is where those in search of hot nonhumans should set their sights.
—Kirkus Reviews

Hysterical! Smart and funny, with a little drama, a little romance, and just the right touch of evil.
—Stephenie Meyer, author of the bestselling Twilight Saga

There’s plenty to like here: a budding will-they-won’t-they romance, demonic possession, musical theater references, and more. Knudsen keeps the terror well-tempered with plenty of hilarious situational comedy and touches of the absurd.
—Booklist Online

If Louise Rennison and Christopher Moore had a bibliographic love child it would be this cheekily narrated supernatural offering. ... [Cyn's] narrative voice and the novel’s dialogue make it worth the read. Occasional swearing, a dash of romance, and plenty of laugh-out-loud moments round out Knudsen’s enjoyable comedic tale, reminiscent of the original “Buffy” film.
—School Library Journal

Smart, problem-solving, and loyal, [Cyn] makes an engaging heroine... The first-person narration ranges from self-deprecating wit to breathless, punctuation-free anxiety during suspenseful moments, emphasizing Cyn’s terror—and her determination to save those she loves despite her fear. An excellent choice for fans of Cynthia Leitich Smith’s Tantalize series or Larbalestier and Brennan’s Team Human.
—Horn Book

Knudsen's snarky wit portrays the high school atmosphere to a T, and it is suspenseful enough to keep readers up late turning the pages.
—St. Louis Post-Dispatch


Product Details
ISBN: 9780763676407
ISBN-10: 0763676403
Publisher: Candlewick
Publication Date: September 13th, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English