You are here

Under a Painted Sky (Hardcover)

    $16.99
    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    Description


    From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. 

    “This moving novel will captivate you.”—Buzzfeed.com  

    All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier. 
        But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can’t stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail.         

    Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award 
    An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick 
    An Amelia Bloomer Book 

    About the Author


    Stacey Lee is the critically acclaimed author of the novels Under a Painted Sky and Outrun the Moon, the winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award for Young Adult Fiction. She is a fourth-generation Chinese American and a founding member of We Need Diverse Books. Born in Southern California, she graduated from UCLA and then got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. She lives with her family outside San Francisco. You can visit Stacey at staceyhlee.com. Or follow her on Twitter @staceyleeauthor.

    Praise For…


    Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award 
    An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick
    An Amelia Bloomer Book 


    “Debut author Stacey Lee successfully rides onto the range with this sweeping, warmhearted tale.”—The Chicago Tribune
     
    “A much needed multicultural look at the Oregon Trail, with resourceful, smart, and brave Chinese American and African American girls as main characters. High drama, tension, romantic longings, and touches of humor will entice historical fiction fans.”—School Library Journal
     
    “This moving novel will captivate you.”—Buzzfeed.com 
     
    *“Emotionally resonant and not without humor, this impressive debut about survival and connection, resourcefulness and perseverance will keep readers on the very edges of their seats.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review
     
    “A great fit for fans of historical adventure with a touch of romance.”—Booklist
     
    *“A story that distinguishes itself by integrating strands of Chinese lore and wisdom, Christianity, and music with themes of friendship, diversity, and survival.”—Publisher’s Weekly, starred review
     
    “Get ready to fall in love with this one.” – Bustle.com
     
    “A solid, entertaining read.”—Tor.com
     
    “A beautifully narrated story about first loves, unbreakable friendships and family found in unlikely strangers.”—BookPage 


    From the Trade Paperback edition.
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9780399168031
    ISBN-10: 0399168036
    Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
    Publication Date: March 17th, 2015
    Pages: 384
    Language: English