The Boatman's Daughter: A Novel (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Boatman's Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A "lush nightmare" (Paul Tremblay) of a supernatural thriller about a young woman facing down ancient forces in the depths of the bayou

Ever since her father was killed when she was just a child, Miranda Crabtree has kept her head down and her eyes up, ferrying contraband for a mad preacher and his declining band of followers to make ends meet and to protect an old witch and a secret child from harm.

But dark forces are at work in the bayou, both human and supernatural, conspiring to disrupt the rhythms of Miranda’s peculiar and precarious life. And when the preacher makes an unthinkable demand, it sets Miranda on a desperate, dangerous path, forcing her to consider what she is willing to sacrifice to keep her loved ones safe.

With the heady mythmaking of Neil Gaiman and the heartrending pacing of Joe Hill, Andy Davidson spins a thrilling tale of love and duty, of loss and discovery. The Boatman's Daughter is a gorgeous, horrifying novel, a journey into the dark corners of human nature, drawing our worst fears and temptations out into the light.

About the Author


Andy Davidson holds an MFA in fiction from the University of Mississippi. In 2017 his debut novel, In the Valley of the Sun, was nominated for the Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel, This Is Horror’s Novel of the Year, and the Edinburgh International Book Festival’s First Book Award. Born and raised in Arkansas, he makes his home in Georgia with his wife and a bunch of cats.

Praise For…


“What if I told you there was a gorgeously written novel that mixed Southern Gothic à la Flannery O’Connor, backwoods noir, and the mythic imagination of Clive Barker? Go read Andy Davidson’s lush nightmare, The Boatman’s Daughter. It put an arrow through my head and heart.”
—Paul Tremblay, author of The Cabin at the End of the World and A Head Full of Ghosts

The Boatman’s Daughter is a beautifully written Gothic chiller that will draw you in and hold you tight. Wild and wonderful—a sentence-by-sentence delight.”
—Michael Koryta, author of How It Happened

“Andy Davidson’s bone-cracking Southern Gothic, The Boatman’s Daughter, is a noir thriller dipped in the dark mud of the bayou, packed with witches, demons, and gods. I was entangled in the dense roots of the story and the rich, aromatic prose from page one. A riveting, powerful, bloody ride you’ll never want to leave, despite the dangers within.”
—Philip Fracassi, author of Behold the Void

“This is the second novel I’ve read by Andy Davidson, which is to say that I have now visited two dark, well-realized southern landscapes full of interesting antagonists and cool set pieces. This author’s greatest strength is place—he takes you there. You can almost smell the flora in the marsh, feel the planks of the rough-built structures under your bare feet. The Boatman’s Daughter is a supernatural cousin to Daniel Woodrell’s gritty Ozarks thrillers; a sensual wetlands fable rich in sensory detail and replete with Slavic folklore.”
—Christopher Buehlman, author of The Suicide Motor Club

“The Boatman’s Daughter—a beautiful and brutal Southern Gothic that enchants and horrifies and hits like a wrecking ball from its opening pages—is fantastic in every sense of the word. Fans of Lansdale, Piccirilli, and McCarthy will dig this wholeheartedly, though the alchemy and magic here are Davidson’s own and mark him as a major voice in modern dark fiction.”
—Jeremy Robert Johnson, author of Entropy in Bloom and Skullcrack City



Product Details
ISBN: 9780374538552
ISBN-10: 0374538557
Publisher: MCD x FSG Originals
Publication Date: February 11th, 2020
Pages: 416