You are here

Symptoms of Being Human (Paperback)

    $9.99
    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    Description


    Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow List

    A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

    Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

    On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

    From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be human.

    About the Author


    Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and was the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He has a BFA in film from Chapman University and lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts. Symptoms of Being Human is his first novel.

    Praise For…


    “Riley is a smart, funny, sharp-eyed force”
    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

    “One of the first YA books to deal with the complex issue of gender fluidity…Riley’s emotional life and personal growth shed welcome light on a hitherto obscure subject.”
    — Booklist (starred review)

    “Vibrantly imagined…a welcome mirror for gender-fluid teens.”
    — Kirkus Reviews

    “With a main character who truly deserves to be called unique, combined with heartbreak and triumphs that are universal, this unforgettable book made me laugh, and also cry: Garvin’s powerful new voice rocks!”
    — Lissa Price, international bestselling author of Starters

    “Riley Cavanaugh is a sharp, funny, powerful voice for those who haven’t quite found theirs yet. Both highly entertaining and highly necessary, Symptoms is the kind of book that makes you a better human for having read it. I loved it.”
    — Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights and Just Visiting

    “A moving portrayal of what it means to be different, yet the same, all at once. Jeff Garvin has written a beautifully thoughtful book.”
    — Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn

    “An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.”
    — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9780062382870
    ISBN-10: 006238287X
    Publisher: Balzer + Bray
    Publication Date: November 14th, 2017
    Pages: 352
    Language: English