You are here

Magic Marks the Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1) (Hardcover)

    By Caroline Carlson, Dave Phillips (Illustrator)
    $16.99
    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    Staff Reviews


    I can't stop telling people about this book, which follows a young girl who ends up on the high seas with a rag-tag group of pirates, her governess, and her magical gargoyle. I wish I could go back in time and give this to my 8-12 year old self. Recommended for every reader who has a sense of adventure and a strong imagination, especially fans of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle and Alice in Wonderland. Carlson has written a smart, funny, and captivating debut, and begun a wonderful new series. (Jenn)

    — From Jenn

    I can't stop telling people about this book, which follows a young girl who ends up on the high seas with a rag-tag group of pirates, her governess, and her magical gargoyle. I wish I could go back in time and give this to my 8-12 year old self. Recommended for every reader who has a sense of adventure and a strong imagination, especially fans of The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle and Alice in Wonderland. Carlson has written a smart, funny, and captivating debut, and begun a wonderful new series. (Jenn)

    — From Jenn

    Description


    Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson's hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket's Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart's Mysterious Benedict Society.

    Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

    There's only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

    But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn't exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

    Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson's quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

    Praise For…


    A whimsical, swashbuckling romp into a deeply imaginative world; Carlson’s novel is as plucky and clever as its heroine.

    Avast! Pirates, magic, girl hero and a gargoyle sidekick? YES!! MAGIC MARKS THE SPOT is an amazing debut, a funny, rollicking adventure featuring a take-no-prisoners heroine and a cast of colorful characters. I eagerly look forward to the next book.

    “There’s merriment and intrigue on the high seas in this debut novel… Carlson’s characters are as memorable as they are entertaining.”
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9780062194343
    ISBN-10: 0062194348
    Publisher: HarperCollins
    Publication Date: September 10th, 2013
    Pages: 368
    Language: English