You are here

Zach

    Zach, manager, Brooklyn and Jersey City 
    Most recent staff pick: Garments Against Women by Anne Boyer 

    Health is politics, poetry is inquiry, prose is legislation, and the sum of these elements is open not only to interpretation but subjected to interrogation as well. Passionate and powerful. Highly recommended for fans of Leslie Jamison, Claudia Rankine, and Maggie Nelson.

    Staff Pick Logo
    Garments Against Women Cover Image
    $18.00
    ISBN: 9781934103593
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Ahsahta Press - March 15th, 2015

    Health is politics, poetry is inquiry, prose is legislation, and the sum of these elements is open not only to interpretation but subjected to interrogation as well. Passionate and powerful. Highly recommended for fans of Leslie Jamison, Claudia Rankine, and Maggie Nelson.


    Staff Pick Logo
    The Small Backs of Children Cover Image
    $24.99
    ISBN: 9780062383242
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Harper - July 7th, 2015

    Lidia Yuknavich's third book, The Small Backs of Children, brings all of her major concerns together in a single novel: the consequences and necessities of art as communicative and creative work; girlhood and womanhood; the threats and comforts of men against and for each other and those around them (especially but not exclusively including war); families; memories. And it does so with characteristic skill, bluntness, and candor. Highly recommended. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    Ark Cover Image
    $16.95
    ISBN: 9780990340706
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Flood Editions - August 2014

    Perhaps our most ambitious poet of light, Ronald Johnson composed his book-length poem, ARK, over a period of two decades. Its structure derives from that of the Watts Towers, its delight from Dante, the sun, and the senses. The current edition is the first version of the poem to receive the full approval of Johnson's estate. For lovers of poetry, fine design, passion, and the "consequence of sequence." Essential. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    How Music Got Free: The End of an Industry, the Turn of the Century, and the Patient Zero of Piracy Cover Image
    $27.95
    ISBN: 9780525426615
    Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
    Published: Viking - June 16th, 2015

    It’s well-understood at this late date that online piracy killed the record business, and though the story might not be news to you, Witt’s account is better than most. Rather than simply focus on the millions-of-Napster-users thread, he emphasizes three distinct chains of events -- the development of the MP3, a record-industry mogul, and a CD production plant employee -- whose concurrence weaves a thorough tale of both the industry's collapse and perseverance. Recommended for readers interested in the impact of widely-adopted technology and the music business. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    Hold Still: A Memoir with Photographs Cover Image
    $32.00
    ISBN: 9780316247764
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Little Brown and Company - May 12th, 2015

    Photographer Sally Mann is a true artist (talented, provocative, intelligent, curious, metaphorically alchemical, enduring) and to read Hold Still: A Memoir with Photographs is to learn about a vanished or vanishing kind of life: regionally-specific, chemically-active (in habits and artistic processes), and historically self-aware. A southern tale, dramatic, sweeping and stumbling across generations. Likely worth a look for the photographs alone. Highly recommended. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son Cover Image
    $24.95
    ISBN: 9780385352307
    Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
    Published: Knopf Publishing Group - March 10th, 2015

    For better or for worse, Kent Russell's I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son has a specific, two-part question in mind: in the face of a failed and failing masculine sense of self, what, exactly, is a young man to do, and who will his role models be? If Russell comes up with any answers, he comes up with several, and what could be a series of small, deluded, nostalgic monuments to a bygone era is instead a testament to a historical lack, passed on from generation to generation, with as much love as despair. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    Lucky Alan: And Other Stories Cover Image
    $24.95
    ISBN: 9780385539814
    Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
    Published: Doubleday Books - February 24th, 2015

    Jonathan Lethem fans are a willing breed: willing to try different kinds of stories and storytelling, willing to dip their feet into almost any literary genre, willing to keep at a book to see if they won't like it later on. Lethem's latest collection of stories typically rewards such curiosity and does so with marvelous intelligence, breadth, despair, and humor. A fine introduction to his range, a fine affirmation for the already initiated. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    10:04 Cover Image
    $25.00
    ISBN: 9780865478107
    Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
    Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 2nd, 2014

    10:04, a chronologically-varied fictional memoir of sorts, is a work of compelling intelligence. Its narrator, a poet by vocation, finds recognition and success as a writer of fiction; embroilment in surrogate fatherhood; mentorship of a young boy, although he has no credentials for such work; and a handful of other solipsistic yet social endeavors to be equal parts baffling and expected. A heady book, to be sure, and a true pleasure. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    Citizen: An American Lyric Cover Image
    $20.00
    ISBN: 9781555976903
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Graywolf Press - October 7th, 2014

    Race and gender are Ms. Rankine’s subjects and objects in this wonderful book. Relevant artworks, collaborations, and details from quotidian affronts and cultural/institutional prejudices are disclosed and confronted here, sometimes in poetry, sometimes in prose, always with urgency and truth-seeking force. A must-read. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    What the Living Do: Poems Cover Image
    $15.95
    ISBN: 9780393318869
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 17th, 1999

    Two common concerns among potential poetry readers are that one is somehow missing something in the work, and that somehow one isn’t getting the poems. This collection of Howe’s poems lays such reservations to rest and pulls no punches. Her broader answer to the titular question is that we comfort and conceal, suffer and transcend, separate and rejoin, and through it all emerge with our voices intact. A sometimes harrowing but always inspiring and powerful book. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    Letters of James Agee to Father Flye Cover Image
    By James Agee, James Harold Flye (Editor), Robert Phelps (Foreword by)
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781612193618
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Melville House Publishing - April 29th, 2014

    Long out of print, these letters track the moral, political, and aesthetic development of one of the 20th century's most ambitious popular minds.  A must-read for anyone interested in the period from WWI through the 1950s. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    White Girls Cover Image
    $24.00
    ISBN: 9781936365814
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: McSweeney's - November 12th, 2013

    Hilton Als is among our sharpest cultural critics. White Girls gathers essays concerning Truman Capote, Eminem, Michael Jackson, gender, race, sexuality, and more. His is a truly unique voice, passionate, erudite, and delightful, and reading him is akin to the surge one feels before meeting someone who is lonely in their brilliance, desperate to draw another in to share the burden, to share the pressure, not to release it, not for relief. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    This Is How You Lose Her Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781594631771
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Riverhead Books - September 3rd, 2013

    The poet Thomas McGrath once posed the question, “What will you learn to know?” Mr Diaz, in This Is How You Lose Her, his third book and second collection of stories, asks a similar question of both his characters and readers. Mr Diaz writes with extraordinary skill, underpinning his narratives with a full range of cultural and social concerns without sacrificing depth or feeling. (Zach)


    Staff Pick Logo
    Dirty Love Cover Image
    $25.95
    ISBN: 9780393064650
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 7th, 2013

    Dirty Love is an extraordinary collection of stories, no less for its larger organization, its overlapping characters, and consequent internal resonance, than it is for its systemic empathy. The title story alone would be a worthy purchase but the book works best as a whole. (Also recommended: Townie) (Zach) 


    $20.00
    SKU: 9781935928997

    Chris Ruen's Freeloading offers a personal history and interest in the effects of illegal downloading, derived most prominently from his own experience and that of several musicians he met while working at his neighborhood coffee shop in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. If you're looking for a general history of how widespread downloading came to pass, he's got that, too, but this book is unique for its subjectivity, a welcome addition to the growing number of books that try to treat the piracy issue as though it occurs without user-end complicity. For Mr. Ruen, and probably the rest of us, the question of stealing is ultimately a moral one, a question of what we're willing to do when no one is looking and what the short- and long-term consequences of our choices are and might be for artists, labels, and listeners alike. (Zach)