You are here

JC: Ross Benes presents THE SEX EFFECT with Jerry Portwood

    05/01/2017 - 7:30pm

    This event will take place in our Jersey City store.

    For fans of Mary Roach and Freakonomics comes The Sex Effect: Baring Our Complicated Relationship with Sex by journalist Ross Benes. With a foreword by New York Times bestselling author A. J. Jacobs, The Sex Effect delves into the complicated relationship between religion, politics, money, and our sexuality. Drawing on history, psychology, sociology, economics, anthropology, neuroscience, epidemiology, theology, and political science, Benes combines innovative research and analysis with captivating anecdotes to reveal just how much sex shapes our lives.

    Ross Benes is a reporter at Digiday who previously worked for Esquire and Deadspin, where he wrote about sex, sports, statistics, and pop culture. His work has also appeared in the Wall Street Journal, New York magazine, Rolling Stone, Adweek, Quartz, Mental Floss, Business Insider, Salon, and Slate.

    Jerry Portwood is the Deputy Editor of RollingStone.com. Formerly he was the Executive Editor of Out magazine and the Editor in Chief of New York Press. He’s currently working on a book about what gay marriage means to men as they figure out how to put themselves together in loving, supporting relationships – and it includes many of his own sexual misadventures and plenty of comical nudity.

    Facebook RSVPs encouraged but not required.

    The Sex Effect: Baring Our Complicated Relationship with Sex Cover Image
    By Ross Benes, A. J. Jacobs (Foreword by)
    $26.99
    ISBN: 9781492647423
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Sourcebooks - April 4th, 2017

    A gripping exploration of the relationship between sex and our society, with a foreword by bestselling author A.J. Jacobs