You are here

BK: Jennifer Kitses presents SMALL HOURS

    06/15/2017 - 7:00pm

    This event will take place in our Brooklyn store.

    Small Hours is a taut and riveting literary debut by Jennifer Kitses that unfolds over the course of a single day. On the edge of the economic downturn, Tom and Helen fled New York City for life in a former mill town where they could raise their twin daughters. But, two years later, their fragile domestic equilibrium has hit a breaking point. As Helen, juggling ambitions and frustrations, begins to lose control, finding herself drawn into a violent conflict with two local teenagers, Tom is struggling to keep afloat at his job—and hide a secret that could destroy his family. As the hours tick by, the mistakes, indiscretions, and lies that each has fought to bury begin to surface. Kitses captures the absolute universality of experience. No matter your own stage of life, it is impossible not to see yourself in these skillfully drawn, deeply sympathetic working parents with their financial and marital and career struggles. There is also sharp, delicious humor amid the drama, as each decision made by Tom and Helen sets off a series of small explosions—spiraling spectacularly, satisfyingly, into chaos.

    Jennifer Kitses has worked as a reporter for Bloomberg News and as an editor for Columbia Business School. She is a graduate of St. Andrews University’s creative writing program and lives with her family in New York. Small Hours is her first book.

    Facebook RSVPs encouraged but not required.

    Small Hours Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9781455598526
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Grand Central Publishing - June 13th, 2017

    In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel--told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day--in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos.