You are here

JC: Christina Baker Kline and Pam Jenoff in Conversation

    05/22/2017 - 7:30pm

    This event will take place in our Jersey City store.

    About A Piece of the World: In her new novel, Kline turns her attention to another little-known part of America’s history: the story of Christina Olson, the complex woman and real-life muse Andrew Wyeth portrayed in his 1948 masterpiece Christina’s World. This iconic American painting — which features a mysterious woman in a pink dress sitting in a field, gazing at a weathered house in the distance — hangs in the Museum of Modern Art in New York City as part of their permanent collection. In A Piece of the World, Kline vividly imagines the life of Christina Olson. Born in the same remote farmhouse in Cushing, Maine that her family had lived in for generations, and increasingly incapacitated by a degenerative muscular disorder that made it difficult to walk, Christina seemed destined to lead an uneventful life. Her fate changed the day 22-year-old Andrew Wyeth knocked on her front door. Told in evocative and lucid prose, A Piece of the World is a story about the burdens and blessings of family history, and how artist and muse can come together to forge a new and timeless legacy.

    About The Orphan's Tale: Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out of her Dutch home when her father discovers she is carrying the child of a soldier of the German occupation army. With nowhere to turn, she gives that baby up to the Reich, a sacrifice that leaves her devastated. When she discovers dozens of babies in a railcar destined for the camps, she impulsively steals one. Given shelter by a traveling circus, Noa must quickly learn to be an aerialist in order for her and the baby to stay. Her teacher on the trapeze, Astrid, wants nothing to do with the girl, until she discovers not only Noa’s innate talents, but the circumstances that brought her and the infant there. Astrid has her own secret—she is Jewish and also has nowhere else to turn.

    Christina Baker Kline is the author of five novels, including the #1 New York Times bestselling Orphan Train. Her other novels include Bird in Hand, The Way Life Should Be, Desire Lines and Sweet Water. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, the San Francisco Chronicle, LitHub, Psychology Today, among other places. She lives outside of New York City and on the coast of Maine.

    Pam Jenoff is the author of The Kommandant's Girl, which was an international bestseller and nominated for a Quill award, as well as seven other novels. She holds a bachelor’s degree in international affairs from George Washington University and a master’s degree in history from Cambridge, and she received her Juris Doctor from the University of Pennsylvania. Jenoff’s novels are based on her experiences working at the Pentagon and also as a diplomat for the State Department handling Holocaust issues in Poland. She lives outside Philadelphia with her husband and three children where, in addition to writing, she teaches law school.

    Facebook RSVPs encouraged but not required.

    A Piece of the World Cover Image
    $27.99
    ISBN: 9780062356260
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: William Morrow & Company - February 21st, 2017

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    "Graceful, moving and powerful."

    --Michael Chabon, New York Times bestselling author of Moonglow


    Orphan Train Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780061950728
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: William Morrow & Company - April 2nd, 2013

    The #1 New York Times Bestseller


    The Orphan's Tale Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780778319818
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Mira Books - February 21st, 2017

    A New York Times bestseller
    "Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

    "Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train


    The Kommandant's Girl Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780778320586
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Mira Books - September 27th, 2016

    In her luminous and groundbreaking debut, bestselling author Pam Jenoff shows the unimaginable sacrifices one woman must make in a time of war Nineteen-year-old Emma Bau has been married only three weeks when Nazi tanks thunder into her native Poland.