You are here

MOMMA SAID: Lies Our Mothers Told Us (And Some We Wish They Had)

    05/02/2010 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm

    Join us for a hilarious pre-Mother's Day evening of readings, memories, and family secrets with some of Brooklyn's funniest writers and comedians. Facebook RSVP encouraged but not required.

    Featuring: Gabe Delahaye writes Videogum.com, and makes important videos for Details magazine with his friend Max Silvestri.

    Jessica Grose is an associate editor at Slate and co-author of Love, Mom: Poignant, Goofy, Brilliant Messages from Home.

    Julie Klausner is a comedy writer and author of I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR BAND. Her website is, predictably, julieklausner.com

    Marisa Meltzeris the author of Girl Power.

    Troy Patterson is the television critic at Slate and the film critic at Spin.

    Caitlin Roper is the managing editor of The Paris Review. She is on the curatorial committee for the Moth.


    Doree Shafrir
    is a freelance writer and the co-author of Love, Mom: Poignant,Goofy, Brilliant Messages from Home. Her website is www.doreeshafrir.com.

    Piper Weiss is the creator of the blog My Mom the Style Icon, and author of the upcoming book based on the site, published by Chronicle in 2011.

     

    $14.00
    ISBN: 9780865479791
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Faber & Faber - February 2nd, 2010

    In the early nineties, riot grrrl exploded onto the underground music scene, inspiring girls to pick up an instrument, create fanzines, and become politically active. Rejecting both traditional gender roles and their parents’ brand of feminism, riot grrrls celebrated and deconstructed femininity.


    $17.99
    ISBN: 9781401323424
    Availability: Special Order: Please email for availability
    Published: Hyperion - March 1st, 2009

    MY MOTHER SENDS ME EMAILS IN ALL CAPS SO IT ALWAYS SEEMS LIKE SHE IS YELLING. SO IN HER STYLE I WILL SAY, I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!


    $15.00
    ISBN: 9781592405619
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Gotham Books - February 2nd, 2010

    Read Julie Klausner's posts on the Penguin Blog

    In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love--and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage.