You are here

Jersey City

    JC: Woke Reads Discusses HIDDEN FIGURES

    10/11/2017 - 6:00pm
    Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780062363602
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: William Morrow & Company - December 6th, 2016

    The #1 New York Times bestseller

    The phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA whose calculations helped fuel some of America's greatest achievements in space. Soon to be a major motion picture starring Taraji P. Henson, Octavia Spencer, Janelle Monae, Kirsten Dunst, and Kevin Costner.


    JC: Mystery Book Group Discusses WHAT IT WAS

    11/29/2017 - 6:00pm

    Postponed 1 week to Nov 29th due to Thanksgiving!

    What It Was Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780316209540
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Reagan Arthur Books - July 15th, 2016

    Washington, D.C., 1972. Derek Strange has left the police department and set up shop as a private investigator. His former partner, Frank "Hound Dog" Vaughn, is still on the force.


    JC: Mystery Book Group Discusses THE HOUND OF THE BASKERVILLES

    10/25/2017 - 6:00pm
    The Hound of the Baskervilles (Modern Library Classics) Cover Image
    By Arthur Conan Doyle, Laurie R. King (Introduction by)
    $9.00
    ISBN: 9780812966060
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Modern Library - October 8th, 2002

    Introduction by Laurie R. King


    JC: Mystery Book Group Discusses A MAN LIES DREAMING

    09/27/2017 - 6:00pm
    A Man Lies Dreaming Cover Image
    $16.99
    ISBN: 9781612195605
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Melville House Publishing - May 2nd, 2017

    The novel that stunned--and scandalized--Europe comes to America


    JC: Summer Reading Party!

    08/27/2017 - 3:00pm

    Have you been traveling through space using your summer reading passport? WORD wants to celebrate all of your hard work, and all of the books you have read and loved! Join us for snacks and refreshments, temporary tattoos, a special collaborative art project, giveaways, and a raffle (drop off your completed passports at the store or turn them in the day of the party to enter!).

    JC: Dar Williams presents WHAT I FOUND IN A THOUSAND TOWNS

    10/13/2017 - 7:30pm

    Dubbed by the New Yorker as "one of America's very best singer-songwriters," Dar Williams has made her career not in stadiums but touring America's small towns. She has played their venues, composed in their coffee shops, and drunk in their bars. She has seen these communities struggle, but also seen them thrive in the face of post-industrial identity crises.

    $5.00
    SKU: DARVOUCHER

    1 admission to see Dar Williams discuss her book What I Found in a Thousand Towns at WORD Bookstores, Jersey City on October 13th at 7:30pm. Voucher can be used in store the evening of the event and is good towards any item in store, including Williams' new book! 


    JC: YA Oughta discusses The Girl from Everywhere

    09/20/2017 - 6:00pm
    The Girl from Everywhere Cover Image
    $9.99
    ISBN: 9780062380760
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Greenwillow Books - February 7th, 2017

    The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility. Its sparkling wit, breathless adventure, multicultural cast, and enchanting romance will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir and Leigh Bardugo.


    JC: YA Authors Rin Chupeco and Zoraida Cordova In Conversation

    09/19/2017 - 7:30pm

    The Bone Witch Cover Image
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9781492635826
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Sourcebooks Fire - March 7th, 2017

    A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017

    In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...


    JC: Women in Mystery with Sherry Thomas, Juliana Gray and Deanna Raybourn

    09/20/2017 - 7:30pm

     

    WORD is pleased to have three amazing powerhouse women join for one night only in Jersey City to discuss mysteries, female protagonists, and more!

    A Strange Scottish Shore Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9780425277089
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Berkley Books - September 19th, 2017

    The acclaimed author of A Most Extraordinary Pursuit brings a dazzling voice and extraordinary plot twists to this captivating Scottish adventure...


    A Conspiracy in Belgravia (Lady Sherlock #2) Cover Image
    $15.00
    ISBN: 9780425281413
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Berkley Books - September 5th, 2017

    The game is afoot as Charlotte Holmes returns in USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas's Victorian-set Lady Sherlock series.


    A Perilous Undertaking (Veronica Speedwell Mystery #2) Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9780451476159
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Berkley Books - January 10th, 2017

    Veronica Speedwell returns in a brand new adventure from Deanna Raybourn, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries...


    JC: Much Ado About Classics discusses A ROOM OF ONE'S OWN

    08/17/2017 - 6:00pm
    A Room of One's Own Cover Image
    $13.99
    ISBN: 9780156787338
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt P - December 27th, 1989

    Virginia Woolf's landmark inquiry into women's role in society


    Pages