You are here

Jersey City

    JC: Tim Murphy presents CHRISTODORA

    06/13/2017 - 7:30pm

    This event will take place in our Jersey City store.

    Facebook RSVPs encouraged but not required.

    Christodora Cover Image
    $17.00
    ISBN: 9780802126832
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Grove Press - June 13th, 2017

    In this epic, ambitious, and deeply poignant novel, Tim Murphy follows a diverse group of people whose fates intertwine in an iconic building in Manhattan's East Village, the Christodora.


    Getting Off Clean Cover Image
    $22.99
    ISBN: 9780312292355
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: St. Martin's Press - August 1st, 2001

    The one thing that Eric Fitzpatrick wants is to escape--both from his family and the racially tense town in which he lives. The only son of an Italian-Irish family in a working class suburb of boston, he intends to go away to college and leave his old life far bhind. But all his plans are set askew when he meets Brooks, a mysterious, wealthy, black student at a local prep school.


    JC: Charles Taylor presents OPENING WEDNESDAY AT A THEATER OR DRIVE-IN NEAR YOU In Conversation with Stephanie Zacharek

    06/06/2017 - 7:30pm

    Opening Wednesday at a Theater or Drive-In Near You: The Shadow Cinema of the American '70s Cover Image
    $27.00
    ISBN: 9781632868183
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Bloomsbury USA - June 6th, 2017

    "Movie criticism's Dostoyevsky . . . Taylor reveals a national identity forged from the innocence we claim to have lost but never had in the first place." --Steve Erickson, author of Zeroville


    JC: Storytime! DUSTRATS with Adria Regordosa

    05/27/2017 - 11:00am

    Sir Muffin Muffinsson is a valiant, watchful cat charged with the care and keeping of baby Emma while she sleeps. It’s a busy job, and this week Sir Muffin forgot to do the tidying up! Seven days worth of dust springs to life in the form of “Dustrats,” mischievous little imps who run amok through the house. While Sir Muffin chases the critters from room to room with his trusty vacuum, Emma’s vivid dreams begin to morph the world around him: An ocean in the bathroom, a magic kingdom in the attic, things are getting out of control!

    Dustrats: Or, the Adventures of Sir Muffin Muffinsson Cover Image
    $16.99
    ISBN: 9781576878217
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: POW! - May 16th, 2017

    Sir Muffin Muffinsson is a valiant, watchful cat charged with the care and keeping of baby Emma while she sleeps. It's a busy job, and this week Sir Muffin forgot to do the tidying up Seven days worth of dust springs to life in the form of "Dustrats," mischievous little imps who run amok through the house.


    JC: Sherman Alexie presents YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAY YOU LOVE ME

    06/18/2017 - 5:00pm

    You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir Cover Image
    $28.00
    ISBN: 9780316270755
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little Brown and Company - June 13th, 2017


    The Instant New York Times Bestseller

    Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction

    A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, loss, and forgiveness from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award-winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.


    Staff Pick Logo
    Thunder Boy Jr. Cover Image
    By Sherman Alexie, Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9780316013727
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2016

    Thunder Boy Jr. is named after his dad, but he wants a name that's all his own. Just because people call his dad Big Thunder doesn't mean he wants to be Little Thunder. He wants a name that celebrates something cool he's done, like Touch the Clouds, Not Afraid of Ten Thousand Teeth, or Full of Wonder.


    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780316013697
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2009

    Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.


    Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories Cover Image
    $17.00
    ISBN: 9780802121752
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Grove Press - October 8th, 2013

    "Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In Blasphemy, the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . .


    The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven (20th Anniversary Edition) Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9780802121998
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Grove Press - October 8th, 2013

    "Alexie's prose startles and dazzles with unexpected, impossible-to-anticipate moves. These are cultural love stories, and we laugh on every page with a fist tight around our hearts."--The Boston Globe


    IECC at Casa Colombo, Embankment Coalition Preservation and WORD Present: Murder in Matera by Helene Stapinski

    05/21/2017 - 4:00pm

    This Event Takes Place At Casa Colombo 380 Monmouth St, Jersey City, NJ 07302

    Murder in Matera: A True Story of Passion, Family, and Forgiveness in Southern Italy Cover Image
    $26.99
    ISBN: 9780062438454
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Dey Street Books - May 23rd, 2017

    "A murder mystery, a model of investigative reporting, a celebration of the fierce bonds that hold families together through tragedies...Murder in Matera is a gem." -- San Francisco Chronicle

    "Tantalizing" -- NPR


    JC: Christina Baker Kline and Pam Jenoff in Conversation

    05/22/2017 - 7:30pm

    A Piece of the World Cover Image
    $27.99
    ISBN: 9780062356260
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: William Morrow & Company - February 21st, 2017

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    "Exquisite. A must-read."

    --Kristin Hannah


    Orphan Train Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780061950728
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: William Morrow & Company - April 2nd, 2013

    The #1 New York Times Bestseller


    The Orphan's Tale Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780778319818
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Mira Books - February 21st, 2017

    A New York Times bestseller
    "Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. " --Library Journal

    "Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion.... I read this novel in a headlong rush." --Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train


    The Kommandant's Girl Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780778320586
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Mira Books - September 27th, 2016

    In her luminous and groundbreaking debut, bestselling author Pam Jenoff shows the unimaginable sacrifices one woman must make in a time of war Nineteen-year-old Emma Bau has been married only three weeks when Nazi tanks thunder into her native Poland.


    JC: Kimberly McCreight and Elizabeth Eulberg (YA)

    05/11/2017 - 7:30pm

     

    Join us for a spirited discussion with YA authors Kimberly McCreight and Elizabeth Eulberg! 

    JC: Sandrine Revel presents GLENN GOULD: A LIFE OFF TEMPO

    05/08/2017 - 7:30pm

    Glenn Gould: A Life Off Tempo Cover Image
    $25.99
    ISBN: 9781681120652
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Nantier Beall Minoustchine Publishing - December 1st, 2016

    Nominee:
    2017 Eisner Awards, Best Reality Based Work


    JC: Nathan Hill presents THE NIX with Helen Ellis

    05/02/2017 - 7:30pm

    This event will take place in our Jersey City store.

    The Nix Cover Image
    $17.00
    ISBN: 9781101970348
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

    A New York Times 2016 Notable Book
    Entertainment Weekly's #1 Book of the Year
    A Washington Post 2016 Notable Book
    A Slate Top Ten Book


    American Housewife Cover Image
    $15.00
    ISBN: 9781101970997
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Anchor Books - October 18th, 2016

    Meet the women of American Housewife. They wear lipstick, pearls, and sunscreen, even when it's cloudy. They casserole. They pinwheel. And then they kill a party crasher, carefully stepping around the body to pull cookies from the oven.


    Eating the Cheshire Cat Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9780684864419
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Scribner Book Company - February 13th, 2001

    The debut novel by the author of American Housewife.

    Eating the Cheshire Cat lures us into a world of perfectly planned parties and steep social ladders, where traditional rites of passage take unpredictable and horrifying turns as three girls and their overbearing mothers collide.


    Pages