You are here

Jersey City

    WORD @ Jersey City Downtown Holiday Market

    12/09/2017 - 12:00pm to 6:30pm

    This event takes place by our Jersey City location.

    Join WORD Bookstores as we bring our favorite holiday book recommendations and beautiful gift selection out onto the plaza for the Historic Downtown SID Holiday Market and Winter Wonderland! 

    Favorite local author David J. Goodwin will be on hand signing his book Left Bank of the Hudson from 2-4pm on Saturday and Sunday. 

    Small Business Saturday in Jersey City

    11/25/2017 - 11:00am

    Join us at our Jersey City location for a day of bookish fun and giveaways. Kick off your holiday season by shopping small. 

    Raffle give aways every hour!

    11am Storytime with the wonderful Jessie Sima for her story of staying true to all the parts of you, Not Quite Narwhal. Jessie will be sticking around to serve as a guest bookseller and show you some of her favorite kids books! 

    102 Haiku Journal: 17 Syllables to Say It All Cover Image
    $14.99
    ISBN: 9781419726774
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Abrams Noterie - September 5th, 2017

    This unique journal guides and encourages you to reflect on your day in the style of everyone's favorite short-form poem--the haiku. It offers 102 creative prompts to help you think about different aspects of your life and capture them in 17 syllables. Conceived by the Haiku Guys & Gals, this journal also contains examples of their poems for inspiration.


    Not Quite Narwhal Cover Image
    By Jessie Sima, Jessie Sima (Illustrator)
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9781481469098
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 14th, 2017

    In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.


    After School Cartooning Workshop with Booki Vivat! (author of FRAZZLED series)

    11/08/2017 - 4:00pm

    This event takes place in our Jersey City Store.

    Booki Vivat has been doodling somewhat seriously since 2011 and not-so-seriously since childhood. She grew up in Southern California and graduated from the University of California, San Diego. She is the author of the Frazzled books and lives in Brooklyn, New York. You can follow her on Instagram at @bookibookibooki and on Twitter at @thebookiv.

    Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom Cover Image
    By Booki Vivat, Booki Vivat (Illustrator)
    $12.99
    ISBN: 9780062398796
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: HarperCollins - September 27th, 2016

    An instant New York Times bestseller, Booki Vivat's Frazzled is the first installment of a funny middle grade graphic novel series about a girl who is always in a tizzy.

    "Hilarious." (NPR's All Things Considered)


    Frazzled #2: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes Cover Image
    By Booki Vivat, Booki Vivat (Illustrator)
    $12.99
    ISBN: 9780062398819
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: HarperCollins - September 26th, 2017

    The New York Times bestselling Frazzled series continues

    Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she'll run for class president and get a brand-new shiny locker. Until--she doesn't...


    JC: Storytime! PEANUT BUTTER AND ALIENS with Joe McGee

    12/02/2017 - 11:00am

    All is peaceful between the zombies and the humans of Quirkville . . . until an unexpected alien invasion causes widespread panic and chaos! As the aliens run rampant, demanding something mysterious in their alien language and coating the town in cosmic grape jelly when they’re not understood, the mayor declares a state of emergency. Once again, Reginald the zombie comes to the rescue, bravely suggesting that the seemingly evil aliens try pairing their jelly with some of his favorite peanut butter.

    Peanut Butter & Aliens: A Zombie Culinary Tale Cover Image
    By Joe McGee, Charles Santoso (Illustrator)
    $16.95
    ISBN: 9781419725302
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - August 29th, 2017

    All is peaceful between the zombies and the humans of Quirkville . . . until an unexpected alien invasion causes widespread panic and chaos As the aliens run rampant, demanding something mysterious in their alien language and coating the town in cosmic grape jelly when they're not understood, the mayor declares a state of emergency.


    JC: Jennifer Weiss-Wolf presents PERIODS GONE PUBLIC

    11/07/2017 - 7:30pm

    This event takes place in our Jersey City store. 

    Periods Gone Public: Taking a Stand for Menstrual Equity Cover Image
    $24.99
    ISBN: 9781628727975
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Arcade Publishing - October 10th, 2017

    The first book to explore menstruation in the current cultural and political landscape and to investigate the new wave of period activism taking the world by storm.


    JC: Halloween Fun for Kids!

    10/31/2017 - 1:30pm

    The perfect storytime for the younger set! Stop by for some (gently) spooky tales and candy. Costumes encouraged! Facepainting, raffles, and storytimes throughout the day 1:30-9pm.

     

    WORD Presents CHILLTOWN 2017

    10/29/2017 - 10:00am

    Join us at WORD in Jersey City for an entire day of book nerd fun!

    Kick off the day at 10am with Jessie Sima, author of Not Quite Narwhal will lead a storytime of Narwal and Unicorn fun. Welcome the newly relocated author Jesse to Jersey City!

    YA Oughta Book Group Discusses I Am Princess X

    11/15/2017 - 6:00pm
    I Am Princess X Cover Image
    By Cherie Priest, Kali Ciesemier (Illustrator)
    $10.99
    ISBN: 9781338032352
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 26th, 2016

    Discussion: November 15th, 2017


    JC: Romance & The Resistance with Alisha Rai and Alyssa Cole

    11/28/2017 - 7:30pm

    This event takes place at our Jersey City Store.

    Wrong to Need You: Forbidden Hearts Cover Image
    $7.99
    ISBN: 9780062566751
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Avon Books - November 28th, 2017

    A Cosmopolitan Best Book of 2017

    Alisha Rai returns with the second novel in her sizzling Forbidden Hearts series

    He wasn't supposed to fall in love with his brother's widow...


    A Hope Divided Cover Image
    $15.00
    ISBN: 9781496707468
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Kensington Publishing Corporation - November 28th, 2017

    A Library Journal Editors' Pick
    Buzzfeed's THE ULTIMATE BUZZFEED BOOKS GIFT GUIDE
    Bookish "AUTUMN'S 2017 MOST SWOON-WORTHY ROMANCE BOOKS" list


    JC: Mark Fallon presents Unjustifiable Means

    10/30/2017 - 7:30pm

    Unjustifiable Means: The Inside Story of How the CIA, Pentagon, and Us Government Conspired to Torture Cover Image
    $25.95
    ISBN: 9781942872795
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Regan Arts - October 24th, 2017

    From a man who was there at the inception of the United States' torture program, Unjustifiable Means delves into the dark side of the United States government to reveal how our nation evolved to sanction evil.


    Pages