You are here

Brooklyn

    BK: Lesley Nneka Arimah presents WHAT IT MEANS WHEN A MAN FALLS FROM THE SKY in conversation with Glory Edim of Well Read Black Girl

    06/14/2017 - 7:00pm

    This event will take place in our Brooklyn store.

    What It Means When a Man Falls from the Sky: Stories Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9780735211025
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Riverhead Books - April 4th, 2017

    Named one of the most anticipated books of 2017 by Buzzfeed, Time Magazine, Elle, the Chicago Tribune, the Boston Globe, the Millions, Nylon, the Minneapolis Star-Tribune and Electric Literature


    BK: Bianca Bosker Presents CORK DORK

    06/22/2017 - 7:00pm

    This event will take place in our Brooklyn store.

    Cork Dork: A Wine-Fueled Adventure Among the Obsessive Sommeliers, Big Bottle Hunters, and Rogue Scientists Who Taught Me to Live Cover Image
    $17.00
    ISBN: 9780143128090
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Penguin Books - March 28th, 2017

    INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    "Thrilling . . . told] with gonzo elan . . . When the sommelier and blogger Madeline Puckette writes that this book is the Kitchen Confidential of the wine world, she's not wrong, though Bill Buford's Heat is probably a shade closer." --Jennifer Senior, The New York Times


    BK: Beginning Readers Club Reads THE WITCHES OF BENEVENTO Book 1: Mischief Season

    06/03/2017 - 11:00am
    Mischief Season Cover Image
    $13.99
    ISBN: 9780451471819
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - April 12th, 2016

    The first book in an exciting new chapter book series by John Bemelmans Marciano and Caldecott medalist Sophie Blackall.
    Welcome to Benevento, an ancient town famous for its witches


    BK: Lucy Ives presents IMPOSSIBLE VIEWS OF THE WORLD

    08/08/2017 - 7:00pm

    This event will take place in our Brooklyn store. 

    Impossible Views of the World Cover Image
    $25.00
    ISBN: 9780735221536
    Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
    Published: Penguin Press - August 1st, 2017

    A witty, urbane, and sometimes shocking debut novel, set in a hallowed New York museum, in which a co-worker's disappearance and a mysterious map change a life forever


    BK: Erin Carlson presents I'LL HAVE WHAT SHE'S HAVING with Jennifer Keishin Armstrong

    08/29/2017 - 7:00pm

    I'll Have What She's Having: How Nora Ephron's Three Iconic Films Saved the Romantic Comedy Cover Image
    $27.00
    ISBN: 9780316353885
    Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
    Published: Hachette Books - August 29th, 2017

    A backstage look at the making of Nora Ephron's revered trilogy--When Harry Met Sally, You've Got Mail, and Sleepless in Seattle--which brought romantic comedies back to the fore, and an intimate portrait of the beloved writer/director who inspired a generation of Hollywood women, from Mindy Kaling to Lena Dunham.


    Seinfeldia: How a Show about Nothing Changed Everything Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9781476756110
    Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
    Published: Simon & Schuster - June 6th, 2017

    The New York Times bestseller about two guys who went out for coffee and dreamed up Seinfeld--"A wildly entertaining must-read not only for Seinfeld fans but for anyone who wants a better understanding of how television series are made" (Booklist, starred review).


    BK: Storytime! With Tim Miller

    06/11/2017 - 11:00am

    A cow who wants to be a ballerina? Are you for real? This is a hilarious, one-of-a-kind friendship story between an adventurous cow and a very loyal duck that will have you quacking up all the way through and applauding for more.

    Moo Moo in a Tutu Cover Image
    By Tim Miller, Tim Miller (Illustrator)
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9780062414403
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - April 25th, 2017

    In the classic tradition of George and Martha, Elephant and Piggie, and Frog and Toad comes Moo Moo and Mr. Quackers in their debut, Moo Moo in a Tutu.


    BK: Rachel Khong presents GOODBYE, VITAMIN with Isaac Fitzgerald

    07/11/2017 - 7:00pm

    Goodbye, Vitamin Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9781250109163
    Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
    Published: Henry Holt & Company - July 11th, 2017

    A young woman returns home to care for her failing father in this fine, funny, and inescapably touching debut, from an affecting and wonderfully original new literary voice


    Lucky Peach All about Eggs: Everything We Know about the World's Most Important Food Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9780804187756
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Clarkson Potter Publishers - April 4th, 2017

    A handbook, a cookbook, an eggbook: this quasi-encyclopedic ovarian overview is the only tome you need to own about the indispensable egg.


    Knives & Ink: Chefs and the Stories Behind Their Tattoos (with Recipes) Cover Image
    $24.00
    ISBN: 9781632861214
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Bloomsbury USA - October 18th, 2016

    Chefs take their tattoos almost as seriously as their knives. From gritty grill cooks in backwoods diners to the executive chefs at the world's most popular restaurants, it's hard to find a cook who doesn't sport some ink.


    Pen & Ink: Tattoos & the Stories Behind Them Cover Image
    $22.00
    ISBN: 9781620404904
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - October 7th, 2014

    Every tattoo tells a story, whether the ink is meaningful or the result of a misguided decision made at the age of fourteen, representative of the wearer's true self or the accidental consequence of a bender. These most permanent and intimate of body adornments are hidden by pants legs and shirttails, emblazoned on knuckles, or tucked inside mouths.


    BK: Gotham Writers Workshop: Creative Writing 101

    05/21/2017 - 2:00pm

    This event takes place in our Brooklyn store.

    Wanna write cool things? Gotham's got your back! Check out this free class on creative writing.

    BK: Akhil Sharma presents A LIFE OF ADVENTURE AND DELIGHT

    07/24/2017 - 7:00pm

    A Life of Adventure and Delight Cover Image
    $24.95
    ISBN: 9780393285345
    Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
    Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 11th, 2017

    Hailed as a storyteller whose fiction is "a glowing work of art" (Wall Street Journal), Akhil Sharma is possessed of a narrative voice "as hypnotic as those found in the pages of Dostoyevsky" (The Nation).


    Family Life Cover Image
    $14.95
    ISBN: 9780393350609
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: W. W. Norton & Company - February 2nd, 2015

    We meet the Mishra family in Delhi in 1978, where eight-year-old Ajay and his older brother Birju play cricket in the streets, waiting for the day when their plane tickets will arrive and they and their mother can fly across the world and join their father in America.


    An Obedient Father Cover Image
    $14.95
    ISBN: 9780393337815
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: W. W. Norton & Company - April 7th, 2014

    Ram Karan, a corrupt official in New Delhi, lives with his widowed daughter and his little granddaughter. Bumbling, sad, ironic, Ram is also a man corroded by a terrible secret.


    BK: Jennifer Kitses presents SMALL HOURS

    06/15/2017 - 7:00pm

    Small Hours Cover Image
    $26.00
    ISBN: 9781455598526
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Grand Central Publishing - June 13th, 2017

    In the vein of Richard Russo and Tom Perrotta, a gripping, suspenseful, and gorgeous debut novel--told hour-by-hour over the course of a single day--in which a husband and wife try to outrun long-buried secrets, sending their lives spiraling into chaos.


    Pages