You are here

Dark Lies the Island: Stories (Paperback)

    $16.00
    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    October 2013 Indie Next List


    “Barry's collection of stories crackles with intelligence, wicked humor, and the woes of modern life. Populated by misfits, hapless husbands, and characters whose worst enemies are themselves, the 13 stories that make up this collection are compulsively readable and, like all great fiction, seem effortless. Barry loves the cadence and sound of human speech and his ear for dialogue and narrative is astounding. The stories brim with humor and lines so quotable they demand to be read again. Barry puts a beating heart into each of these stories, a collection that is a must for fans of Irvine Welsh and V.S. Pritchett.”
    — Mark Haber, Brazos Bookstore, Houston, TX

    Description


    Kevin Barry's deliciously wicked collection Dark Lies the Island delivers on the many reckless promises made by his virtuosic and prizewinning debut novel, City of Bohane. It firmly establishes him as both a world-class word slinger and a masterful storyteller.

    About the Author


    Kevin Barry is the author of the novel City of Bohane, winner of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and the story collection There Are Little Kingdoms. He lives in County Sligo, Ireland.
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9781555976880
    ISBN-10: 1555976883
    Publisher: Graywolf Press
    Publication Date: April 7th, 2015
    Pages: 192
    Language: English