You are here

The Loved Ones (Paperback)

    $18.00
    Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

    Staff Reviews


    I read THE LOVED ONES by Sonya Chung with breathless urgency. It was as expansive as I needed it it to be while also telling the most personal of family stories. Much missing American immigration and great migration history was missing for me that this beautiful story helped piece together. From the first page this novel is brimming with prismatic, intersectional moments I was not aware of between Korean and black americans in the post war era. The intergenerational aspect just helps the pages race by as generations carry each other's burdens and triumphs through the years. Fans of HOMEGOING and WHITE TEETH will feel this novel is a blessing on their nightstands.

    — From Hannah

    November 2016 Indie Next List


    “Chung offers readers an intelligent, compassionate story that crosses all kinds of divides. The pages turn quickly as the story of two families, their pasts, and the consequences of their current actions are presented. Each character is empathetic and compelling, and the prose is, at some points, heart-breaking in its simplicity. This novel brings a unique perspective to immigration history in the U.S., and the contrasting cultures, as well as the contrast in generations, makes for a fast read and a powerful narrative. Long for This World made Chung a writer to watch, but with this book she should jump right to the top of everyone's must-read pile.”
    — Abby Fennewald, Book People, Austin, TX

    Description


    In this masterful novel of inheritance and loss, Sonya Chung (Long for This World) proves herself a worthy heir to Marguerite Duras, Hwang Sun-won, and James Salter. Spanning generations and divergent cultures, The Loved Ones maps the intimate politics of unlikely attractions, illicit love, and costly reconciliations. Charles Lee, the young African American patriarch of a biracial family, seeks to remedy his fatherless childhood in Washington, DC, by making an honorable choice when his chance arrives. Years later in the mid-1980s, uneasy and stymied in his marriage to Alice, he finds a connection with Hannah Lee, the teenage Korean American caregiver whose parents’ transgressive flight from tradition and war has left them shrouded in a cloud of secrets and muted passion. A shocking and senseless death will test every familial bond and force all who are touched by the tragedy to reexamine who their loved ones truly are–the very meaning of the words. Haunting, elliptical, and powerful, The Loved Ones deconstructs the world we think we know and shows us the one we inhabit.
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9780984764846
    ISBN-10: 0984764844
    Publisher: Relegation Books
    Publication Date: October 18th, 2016
    Pages: 280
    Language: English