You are here

JC: Sherman Alexie presents YOU DON'T HAVE TO SAY YOU LOVE ME

    06/18/2017 - 5:00pm

    This event will take place in our Jersey City store.

    Family relationships are never simple. But Sherman Alexie's bond with his mother Lillian was more complex than most. She plunged her family into chaos with a drinking habit, but shed her addiction when it was on the brink of costing her everything. She survived a violent past, but created an elaborate facade to hide the truth. She selflessly cared for strangers, but was often incapable of showering her children with the affection that they so desperately craved. She wanted a better life for her son, but it was only by leaving her behind that he could hope to achieve it. It's these contradictions that made Lillian Alexie a beautiful, mercurial, abusive, intelligent, complicated, and very human woman.

    When she passed away, the incongruities that defined his mother shook Sherman and his remembrance of her. Grappling with the haunting ghosts of the past in the wake of loss, he responded the only way he knew how: he wrote. The result is a stunning memoir filled with raw, angry, funny, profane, tender memories of a childhood few can imagine, much less survive. An unflinching and unforgettable remembrance, You Don't Have to Say You Love Me is a powerful, deeply felt account of a complicated relationship.

    Winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, the PEN/Malamud Award for Short Fiction, a PEN/Hemingway Citation for Best First Fiction, and the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, Sherman Alexie is a poet, short story writer, novelist and performer. A Spokane/Couer d'Alene Indian, Alexie grew up in Wellpinit, Washington, on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Alexie has been an urban Indian since 1994 and lives in Seattle with his family.

    Facebook RSVPs encouraged but not required.

    You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir Cover Image
    $28.00
    ISBN: 9780316270755
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little Brown and Company - June 13th, 2017


    The Instant New York Times Bestseller

    One of the most anticipated books of 2017--Entertainment Weekly and Bustle

    A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, loss, and forgiveness from the critically acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award-winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.


    Staff Pick Logo
    Thunder Boy Jr. Cover Image
    By Sherman Alexie, Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
    $17.99
    ISBN: 9780316013727
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 10th, 2016

    Thunder Boy Jr. is named after his dad, but he wants a name that's all his own. Just because people call his dad Big Thunder doesn't mean he wants to be Little Thunder. He wants a name that celebrates something cool he's done, like Touch the Clouds, Not Afraid of Ten Thousand Teeth, or Full of Wonder.


    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Cover Image
    $15.99
    ISBN: 9780316013697
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Little, Brown Young Readers - April 1st, 2009

    Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.


    Blasphemy: New and Selected Stories Cover Image
    $17.00
    ISBN: 9780802121752
    Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
    Published: Grove Press - October 8th, 2013

    "Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In" Blasphemy," the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . .


    The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven Cover Image
    $16.00
    ISBN: 9780802121998
    Availability: In stock at Brooklyn or Jersey City -- click for more details
    Published: Grove Press - October 8th, 2013

    "Alexie's prose startles and dazzles with unexpected, impossible-to-anticipate moves. These are cultural love stories, and we laugh on every page with a fist tight around our hearts."--The Boston Globe